Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Great location and value. Valet service is cheaper than nearby garage! Good breakfast and very clean, comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london uk

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Quiet clean location and facilities
Location: Great for downtown Portland, the harbour and bars and restaurants.
Great hotel good location professional staff quiet hotel with good facilities comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our team and a quiet stay! We hope when your travel plans include Portland again, we've earned your loyalty and we can serve you on a future visit! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Close to the old port. Very nice staff and super clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay! We are honored that you chose our hotel during your visit. We are proud of our team of hospitality professionals and it's nice to hear from you that everyone took good care of you during your visit. We hope you'll come visit us again soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Pennsylvania

Convenience

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: The hotel had great coffee and tea always available in the lobby along with fresh apples. The staff was very friendly. Elevators were quick!
Cons: Quieter air conditioning would be a great improvement.
Location: It is near the Old Town and the water for fishing excursions and ferry boat rides. Lots of shops and great restaurants abound!
The hotel was located close to everything we had time to do in the three days we spent in Portland. It's about a block from the ferry rides you can take to Peaks Island or the mail ferry which has about a three hour run around most of the islands. It is close by to excellent restaurants which before the trip I had no idea what quality restaurants there were in Portland. It's a short drive to Freeport for additional shopping if you are looking for that. We tried fresh oysters, had lobster, peekytoe crabs, scallops and great Sicilan food. There are bakeries near the hotel and gelato places that should not be missed! For business people, the hotel had lots of places to plug in all your electronics!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We are thrilled to learn you had a great stay. Portland, Maine has emerged as one of the country's finest dining scenes and it sounds you enjoyed some of the city's best spots! Please come back and visit us again soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good hotel, great location

Posted May 27, 2015
Nice hotel. Not fancy but clean, new and in walking distance to everything. Parking is a bit overpriced and the pool is small if you come with kids but all very convenient. breakfast is ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! We are glad you found our location convinient and our hotel clean and looking new! We hope that you'll come back to visit us soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Just Right In Every Way!

Posted May 16, 2015
There wasn't anything about our stay that wasn't "just right" at this lovely little hotel. Yes, I call it little, but everything about the facility and the staff was huge! From the comfy couches in the great room, to the pristine pool and the maintenance folks who were relentlessly working to keep it just right. Breakfast was great, and once again the staff working the breakfast were "all over it" and with smiles all around. From check in to check out and loads of questions in between, the front desk team was a pleasure. The spacious common areas and hallways belied the size of the hotel, and the room was terrific. Thanks for a nice stay Hampton Inn!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Wow! Our team is celebrating over your kind review! We are all so happy you had a great stay and enjoyed everything about our facility and our team of hospitality professionals. We are proud of our team and are so glad you found the maintenance, breakfast and front desk associates met and exceeded all of your needs. We hope we've your loyalty and that we can have you back real soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Central to waterfront and ferries.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Took the mail run ferry tour. Walked several blocks to arts district and saw some very talented singer/songwriter musicians at the Dogfish.
We arrived about noon and could not check in but were able to leave our vehicle with the valet parking service. Note that parking is not included in the room rate but fifteen bucks a day is very reasonable for downtown. Everything was very clean and free breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice, just what we were looking for.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
We walked to Old Port and along the Eastern Shore from the hotel. It was also nice to have a restaurant connected to the hotel. This was one of the nicest Hampton Inn's we've ever stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ANC, AK

Loving Portland

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Close to everything, super convenient.
Cons: Next time I'll skip Expedia and book direct to not get a view of the back alley.
Location: Waterfront, piers, great coffee and groceries one block away, ferry terminal to harbor islands, shopping, restaurants and Happy Hour!
Haven't been to Portland in some time and glad to see there's some new life in the old town. Great place to eat, drink and shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I have stayed at the property once prior, almost a year ago. the hotel staff has been friendly and helpful. The best part is their welcoming personality. the front desk manager assisted us with securing a ride twice with the hotel van for a visit to the museum and later dinner. The valet services were great and timely and even remembered me from last season. very sweet.