Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

disappointing staff

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: proximity to the town
Cons: better staff
Location: great food and shopping
The staff - mainly housekeeping were completely inattentive - the room wasn't made up until we asked at 7 PM at night there was no soap or clean towels - even after we asked for it - we had to go down stairs in the morning and ask again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great downtown location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
With 3 kids - great small pool and perfect location to everything- staff is terrific. From the valet willing to help you get stuff out of the car in the lot to the breakfast staff willing to help with everything / the staff is wonderful Better ifs - turn down the heat in the pool area - as a parent its crazy how hot it is. And maybe clean the exterior side of the windows - nice view of port but windows are filthy. The hotel is great / just nit-picking. TP
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Great location and value. Valet service is cheaper than nearby garage! Good breakfast and very clean, comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london uk

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Quiet clean location and facilities
Location: Great for downtown Portland, the harbour and bars and restaurants.
Great hotel good location professional staff quiet hotel with good facilities comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our team and a quiet stay! We hope when your travel plans include Portland again, we've earned your loyalty and we can serve you on a future visit! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Close to the old port. Very nice staff and super clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay! We are honored that you chose our hotel during your visit. We are proud of our team of hospitality professionals and it's nice to hear from you that everyone took good care of you during your visit. We hope you'll come visit us again soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Pennsylvania

Convenience

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: The hotel had great coffee and tea always available in the lobby along with fresh apples. The staff was very friendly. Elevators were quick!
Cons: Quieter air conditioning would be a great improvement.
Location: It is near the Old Town and the water for fishing excursions and ferry boat rides. Lots of shops and great restaurants abound!
The hotel was located close to everything we had time to do in the three days we spent in Portland. It's about a block from the ferry rides you can take to Peaks Island or the mail ferry which has about a three hour run around most of the islands. It is close by to excellent restaurants which before the trip I had no idea what quality restaurants there were in Portland. It's a short drive to Freeport for additional shopping if you are looking for that. We tried fresh oysters, had lobster, peekytoe crabs, scallops and great Sicilan food. There are bakeries near the hotel and gelato places that should not be missed! For business people, the hotel had lots of places to plug in all your electronics!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel. We are thrilled to learn you had a great stay. Portland, Maine has emerged as one of the country's finest dining scenes and it sounds you enjoyed some of the city's best spots! Please come back and visit us again soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good hotel, great location

Posted May 27, 2015
Nice hotel. Not fancy but clean, new and in walking distance to everything. Parking is a bit overpriced and the pool is small if you come with kids but all very convenient. breakfast is ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! We are glad you found our location convinient and our hotel clean and looking new! We hope that you'll come back to visit us soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Just Right In Every Way!

Posted May 16, 2015
There wasn't anything about our stay that wasn't "just right" at this lovely little hotel. Yes, I call it little, but everything about the facility and the staff was huge! From the comfy couches in the great room, to the pristine pool and the maintenance folks who were relentlessly working to keep it just right. Breakfast was great, and once again the staff working the breakfast were "all over it" and with smiles all around. From check in to check out and loads of questions in between, the front desk team was a pleasure. The spacious common areas and hallways belied the size of the hotel, and the room was terrific. Thanks for a nice stay Hampton Inn!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Tasha, Hotel Management
Wow! Our team is celebrating over your kind review! We are all so happy you had a great stay and enjoyed everything about our facility and our team of hospitality professionals. We are proud of our team and are so glad you found the maintenance, breakfast and front desk associates met and exceeded all of your needs. We hope we've your loyalty and that we can have you back real soon! Tasha Sheff Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Central to waterfront and ferries.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Took the mail run ferry tour. Walked several blocks to arts district and saw some very talented singer/songwriter musicians at the Dogfish.
We arrived about noon and could not check in but were able to leave our vehicle with the valet parking service. Note that parking is not included in the room rate but fifteen bucks a day is very reasonable for downtown. Everything was very clean and free breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels