Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va

bare bones hotel beats their amenities. how odd...

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The staff was courteous and helpful, the room clean and lovely. Shuttle to the airport most kind.
Cons: Don't cheap out!
Location: near the airport, and also one can connect to the metro via the airport. we used the service to enjoy powells.
So disappointed to stay in a 4 star hotel that doesn't offer continental breakfast, or even a cup of coffee in the lobby! Everything is an additional charge, which I find disappointing. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms clean, the tv cable good, but no fridge or microwave. In the brochure it says they can bring one in compliments of the hotel, in reality they wanted an extra fee. So, our lovely dinner leftovers had to be tossed. I just think it is cheapo for a hotel of this caliber to nickel and dime everything that even cheap hotels offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
The Holiday Inn Portland Airport appreciates you taking the time to write a review. We are apologetic that you were expecting a continental breakfast. As for microwave or refrigerator we instead maintain a more than competative room rate. Many hotels include all those various charges into the room rate, whether or not it is used. So really we are offering a better value by charging only based on use and offering a lower room rate. Thank you again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great staff, poor maids

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: facilities and hotel staff service
Cons: maid service
Location: great location near airport and not too far from downtown.
the maid never replaced the things she was supposed to. other than that the stay would've been great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel, close to airport but very noisy room.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location Airport shuttle
Cons: Noise
Beautiful hotel. The staff were very helpful and we made lots of use of the airport shuttle (there is a lightwieght train that goes direct from airport to central Portland). Only annoyance was that the room was very noisy. We were close to the highway and the train rails, and we could hear the neighboring room move around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great nice and clean

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great hotel to go and only 6 minutes Portland airport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and Location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were particularly helpful and friendly.
Location: Great location for Airport or Downtown. The Holiday Inn run a free shuttle service to the Lightrail(tram) station and back.
We stayed one night here and one night at the Red Lion. The Holiday Inn Airport is far nicer than the Red Lion. Admittedly a bit more expensive but worth the extra money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs attention: mildew, cleanliness, curtains

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The lobby is nice, but the rooms are swampy. Moved from one room that was intolerable to another that was less mildew smelling...but it was on first floor facing parking and walkway without curtains that closed. Breakfast buffet was unappetizing and dirty. Overall, not horrible, but not up to standards at most Holiday Inns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Close to airport

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This hotel was fine. Other reviews recommended asking for an upper floor which we did and regretted. We got the 8th floor, room furthest away from the elevators. Wasn't awesome with three kids. On the other hand it was very quiet so its hard to say if anything else would have been better or worse. Room seemed clean and looked nice. No microwave or fridge. As other reviewers have said there is a somewhat unpleasant smell permeating the entire floor. Keeping the AC on helped a lot. I wished that I had some air freshener. One night we decided to try the restaurant. The woman who seated us was helpful and kind and said our server would be right out. We proceeded to wait for 15 minutes and no one approached us so we left. (We ended up driving a short distance to Ira's Deli and had the most delicious gyro ever made. Highly recommend). When we ate breakfast the service was much better. The breakfast buffet had decent variety and they refilled several of the foods that were out when we arrived (8:30 or so). Overall the hotel was good and we would stay there again...with air freshener and probably closer to the lower levels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

No breakfast no hot tub no tea - staff so so.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We arrived an hour earlier than the check in time. I was told to check back in half an hour since the room was not ready. I left but turned around to pick up some info on the restaurants in the neighbourhood. The other lady gave me some names. Before I left I thought to ask the first girl if the room was ready. She said yes. I was surprised. No breakfast no hot tub no tea in the room. When asked the guy at the front desk gave me one tea bag, literally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Very nice

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Ample space, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Supply the soap and shampoos, do not rquire us to go to the front desk to get them. A continental breakfast would be good. Meals expensive.
WE enjoyed the stay. Comfortable and nicely furnished.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pensacola fl

Posted Jul 30, 2014
very unfriendly staff especially desk help at mid evening shift