Ratings based on 1,305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and interesting decoration

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Unique decor, very comfortable and quiet rooms. Silent air conditioning.
A typical Kimpton hotel, with unique room decoration, free wine reception each evening, free coffee in the morning and snacks in the afternoon. The suite was huge, and comfortable. A great location in the middle of downtown - everything is a short walk away. The only down side is the city noise on a Friday evening - this isn't the fault of the hotel but a result of its location. It was quite on a Saturday - July 4th may have contributed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

A nice hotel for a staycation!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: I like the fact that this hotel, while they do accommodate dogs, have a hypoallergenic floor. Early check in and late check out.
Cons: The Red Star Tavern restaurant connected to hotel was disappointing as the menu was very limited.
Location: There are a lot of good restaurants, in the Pearl district nearby. This hotel was only blocks to the Waterfront Blues Festival. Close to shopping.
Stayed at this hotel to celebrate my son's birthday and to attend the annual Blues Festival. The decor is quirky--keeping Portland weird. We had selected the Suite with 2 queen beds, on the hypoallergenic floor. The room was clean and very comfortable. Wine tasting is offered at 5:00 pm, daily. It was very well done, and many hotel quests were in attendance. The staff was very friendly and accommodating during our stay. But the best part of our stay, was the surprise that my son received, from the staff, for his birthday. The front desk had a bottle of sparkling wine and a huge slice of birthday cake delivered to the room while we were out. My son and I were very touched by the staff's thoughtfulness. A shout out to Jenna and the rest of the staff, at the front desk! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel, but they have no Public brand bikes

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Cons: Stop advertising that they have Public bikes when they don't.
No Public bikes. The hotel was nice, but one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel is that we love Public brand bikes and were looking forward to exploring Portland on Public bikes. Not only did they not have Public bikes, but the bikes that they did have were pretty crappy and we had two flats, far from the hotel, of course.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as described, "deluxe King room"....cramped

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: the restaurant downstairs
Cons: charges for rooms are very pricey for what you get
requested soft, down-style pillows....ours were firm,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and location was perfect for transit.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location and style of decor.
Cons: Two ladies behind reservation desk are not very friendly. I didn't think they loved working with the public.
Location: The River walk, the Tri Met and Art and history museum close.
I loved my experience at hotel. The hotel offered fun things like wine and piano music every night. Ice Cream choice in the afternoon and Starbucks coffee everyday. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was that concierge never got back to me and I had to make my own reservations for the Spirit all day trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Quirky place with a fun staff, perfect for pets

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The hotel is... "interestingly" decorated, like many Kimpton properties. The staff, however, are top notch professionals. With a liberal pet policy, the hotel was swarming with dogs, which we quite enjoyed. The location is pretty central and convenient. The restaurant was decent and only moderately overpriced for breakfast, as hotel restaurants usually are. There are a zillion food trucks nearby for a quick lunch or dinner option. My only complaint was the shower - water pressure was mediocre and I didn't love the shower head (no massage setting).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Went for a short stay and loved it! Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Hil from palo alto

Chased and barked at by a dog!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Not my kind of place. I'm fine with some pets, but barking dogs on otherwise of wall and chased by a dog in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
A bit pricey and paying $38 for overnight parking is steep but the location is great, staff is great, hotel is nice clean and unique. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Spokane, WA

A fabulous hotel!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Funky, cool decor, great staff, very clean and quiet, comfy bed, excellent atmosphere and location.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Within easy walking distance of the light rail and bus lines; great shopping and dining within walking distance.
This was our first time staying at the Hotel Monaco Portland. We loved the decor; the staff was friendly and helpful; the room had great character, decor-wise, was spotless and quiet. We knew it was a good hotel when we wanted to hang out in the lounge/lobby area - it was so inviting and comfy. The water with infused grapefruit and herbs, the morning coffee/tea, and the evening wine reception were very nice touches. Loved the chalkboard at the entrance, welcoming the dogs by name who were staying at the hotel, along with water bowls on the floor.