Ratings based on 1,302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as described, "deluxe King room"....cramped

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: the restaurant downstairs
Cons: charges for rooms are very pricey for what you get
requested soft, down-style pillows....ours were firm,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and location was perfect for transit.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location and style of decor.
Cons: Two ladies behind reservation desk are not very friendly. I didn't think they loved working with the public.
Location: The River walk, the Tri Met and Art and history museum close.
I loved my experience at hotel. The hotel offered fun things like wine and piano music every night. Ice Cream choice in the afternoon and Starbucks coffee everyday. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was that concierge never got back to me and I had to make my own reservations for the Spirit all day trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Quirky place with a fun staff, perfect for pets

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The hotel is... "interestingly" decorated, like many Kimpton properties. The staff, however, are top notch professionals. With a liberal pet policy, the hotel was swarming with dogs, which we quite enjoyed. The location is pretty central and convenient. The restaurant was decent and only moderately overpriced for breakfast, as hotel restaurants usually are. There are a zillion food trucks nearby for a quick lunch or dinner option. My only complaint was the shower - water pressure was mediocre and I didn't love the shower head (no massage setting).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Went for a short stay and loved it! Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Hil from palo alto

Chased and barked at by a dog!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Not my kind of place. I'm fine with some pets, but barking dogs on otherwise of wall and chased by a dog in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
A bit pricey and paying $38 for overnight parking is steep but the location is great, staff is great, hotel is nice clean and unique. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Spokane, WA

A fabulous hotel!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Funky, cool decor, great staff, very clean and quiet, comfy bed, excellent atmosphere and location.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Within easy walking distance of the light rail and bus lines; great shopping and dining within walking distance.
This was our first time staying at the Hotel Monaco Portland. We loved the decor; the staff was friendly and helpful; the room had great character, decor-wise, was spotless and quiet. We knew it was a good hotel when we wanted to hang out in the lounge/lobby area - it was so inviting and comfy. The water with infused grapefruit and herbs, the morning coffee/tea, and the evening wine reception were very nice touches. Loved the chalkboard at the entrance, welcoming the dogs by name who were staying at the hotel, along with water bowls on the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Chicago

Good location

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: The mattress could have been more comfortable, it was too hard for me, although my husband slept fine
Location: Food trucks, Powell's Bookstore, little shops
Within walking distance to many places, including the food trucks, which we loved. The wine tour we took while we were there was great. The staff were so informative about directing us to the places we wanted to find. We enjoyed visiting Powell's Bookstore and other little shops around the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paint on a Pig

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: Better Matresses
Everything was great about the hotel, staff was fantastic, room was clean, linens were super, but the bed was like a rock
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Indianapolis

Best hotel we have stayed in to date

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, spaciousness, pillows
Cons: Wished there had been a ceiling fan in the room
Location: Highly recommend Tasty n Alder, Portland Penny Diner, and Ruby Jewel Scooops
We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was fantastic- always friendly and helpful. Especially the doormen. They are great for directions or dining tips. They took a sincere interest in us and our enjoyment of the trip. We loved this hotel and would absolutely stay there again. Great location in downtown Portland as well- tons of great places within walking distance, and also very close to public transit.