Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

We Will Always Stay Here!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Stayed Dec. 20 for a Dandy Warhols show. Brought a dog and a kid. The room was beautiful and chic. The dog was welcomed. Staff were understanding, helpful, and no fuss when the kid got sick in the room. We ate a superb dinner downstairs. We had coffee and the Times in the morning. The place was beautifully decorated for Xmas. We pretty much loved everything about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staycation fun!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
All the staff were very friendly. A perfect downtown portland hotel experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Great hotel in downtown!

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Great hotel, great location downtown, very friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel centrally located in downtown Portland

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Beautiful hotel with an eclectic design. Right in the center of downtown and walking distance to restaurants and shopping. It even had games in the lobby for the little ones. Looking forward to returning soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel decor is very colorful!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Location and service
Cons: More serene colors
Location: Wonderful place to enjoy Christmas lights and good food
When I first entered my room (a suite) I could not believe the combination of colors,,patterns and decorTion! You have to see if! Wall paper on all walls,gray trim,orange pattern carpets,black and white tree branch pattern wing chair, navy sofa and green check swivel chair...and so much. More. But I ended up not noticing it after a while, Beds divinely cozy..wine and beer each afternoon fireplace burning...just lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Best Place to Stay in Portland

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The funky decor, the very warm and helpful staff. And the dogs. There are lots of dogs in the hotel.
Cons: I wish it was less expensive so I wouldn't feel so guilty staying there, but you get what you pay for.
Location: Close to shops, both the outdoor Saturday Market and traditional shops like Norstrom and Nike (hello, it is Portland), food carts, and the train.
My family and I stayed here for the second time last weekend. We love The Monaco! The rooms are large, colorful, so comfortable and quiet (which is key for me). When I checked in, they asked if our eight-year-old daughter would like to have a visiting goldfish stay with her (well, YES!!). The staff is amazing, so thoughtful and really "on" every detail. I arrived hours before my husband and daughter did. People were decorating gingerbread houses that the hotel had set up in the lounge. I asked if they would be doing that again tomorrow, explaining that my daughter would love it. They weren't, but arranged for her to have a gingerbread house of her own! The hotel is in a great location, easy to walk to the train, shops, restaurants and the Saturday market. I can't say enough good things about this place. We have traveled all over the globe and stayed in our share of four and five star hotels. The Monaco Portland is my favorite of them all. It is definitely first class, with a great personal touch. Somehow, they achieve that balance of being very upscale yet still inviting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your recent review. We were happy to note that you enjoyed your visit and plan on returning. We look forward to your return. Craig Craig Thompson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

funky

Posted Dec 8, 2014
loved this place loved the vibe ask for 9th floor if your not into the dogs as guest, suits all good little add ons that make it so cool in the red room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Posted Dec 5, 2014
A quick stay at a great hotel. Location is ideal also.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disrepair and dirty

Posted Nov 29, 2014
I have stayed here before and enjoyed the experience but it was a couple years ago. The hotel was in a surprising state of poor maintenance. Carpets were filthy, walls dirty and beat up and the room smelled horrible. When I went to use the in room coffee maker I wouldn't because the water reservoir was so dirty. I have long been a Kimpton fan but this property no longer meets their standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa

A Delightful Stay!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Luxurious . . .Very clean . . .Excelllent service
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Centrally located downtown and only a brief ride from the airport.
Well appointed with luxurious furnishings & super clean with a friendly, professional staff. Really enjoyed my night and only regretted that I wasn't staying longer. My room had every amenity with a comfy bed and temperature control that worked perfectly. This is a must for anyone visiting Portland! The place is absolutley lovely and welcomes pets and Wifi included which is nice.