Ratings based on 1,330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel with a lot of personality

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The staff and the personality of the hotel decor.
Cons: I would have expected more than coffee and tea for a breakfast option in the lobby.
Location: Great entertainment and history.
The staff was extremely kind and helpful. They had great suggestions for places to eat and were more then helpful when I told them I had forgotten my computer charger. Best experience I have ever had!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the centre of town.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Staff, position, price.
Easy to get to, very attentive staff, one guy actually went out and bought some decent tea for me, amazing. Possible to mingle with other guests if holidaying but not if on business as the wine tasting is too early (about the same as the popular happy hours around town).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best stay ever!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Hands down the best hotel experience we've had to date. Arrived late after a long drive and we're upgraded to a suite - beautifully decorated, clean and enormous. Only spent one night but we felt like kings. We took out a couple complimentary bicycles in the morning and took a ride to VooDoo Donuts and the arial tram before checking out. Parking is pricey, but this hotel is amazing. We hope to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kyiv, Ukraine

Wonderful experience

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing cones to mind
Excellent hotel, very good location, astonishing design and friendly staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Monaco-----pretty disappointing

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The location worked well for me.
Cons: The hotel staff should listen to basic guest requests (like I want to stay on a higher floor in a quiet room).
Location: OK location-----right in the center of downtown. Close to some shops and restaurants.
I asked to stay on a higher floor in a quiet room. Instead, I was given a room on the second floor that was not quiet at all. Each morning before 5 am there was a lot of loud noise (I think trash removal or something going on with loud trucks). This made sleeping quite challenging for me. Also, the hotel did not feel well maintained or very upscale to me. I will not stay at this hotel during visits to Portland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Really expected more given other reviews...

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Nice lobby and interesting decorations.
Cons: More room storage, better pillows, ventilation in the bathrooms
Location: Hotel was in a convenient, central location for getting around downtown and some other areas nearby.
My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights at the hotel, and for lack of a better phrase, the room and our experience was very OK. We stayed in a regular room with a queen bed. There was little to no space to put our things. Besides the closet, there were a total of three small drawers to store all of our things that were not meant to hang.There was only a small table in the room (which was covered with a variety of brochures, coffee maker, and other standard hotel items) so we struggled to find adequate space to put our things. The bathroom had the same problem. There was essentially no where to put anything. This resulted in a constant shuttling of toiletries in and out of the bathroom every time someone needed to get ready. This is addition to the fact that the bathroom had no ventilation/fan, so you had to leave the door open when showering in order to not fog up the room. Further, the bed was not very comfortable; i.e. springs jabbing into your sides. This was in addition to the terribly uncomfortable down pillows... We requested, and received, foam pillows for nights 2-4, but they were just as bad. Add in being woken up at 3:00 a.m. on Sunday by some very noisy and drunk guests, and my take away is that I will look for a different place to stay on my next trip to Portland. The icing on the cake was a person at the front desk who was quite snippy when we asked about a place to grab some quick food before we left for a hike and stated we wanted something local, not Starbucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a nice place to stop over

Posted Aug 27, 2014
We really enjoyed the wine and cheese party it was welcome after a hot day driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Beautiful hotel with elegant and unique d├ęcor. The evening wine tasting was a very fun addition!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option for a stay near Seattle airport.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Efficient and freindly check in. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Go for it if you do not mind staying in a 'no brand' hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to everything downtown

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Great staaf and really cool rooms. Great location!