Ratings based on 1,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from London

Quirky hotel in good position downtown

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Got that quirky Portland vibe. Relatively old building, high ceilings. Good sized rooms. Has room divider which cuts out corridor noise, but some street noise. Very eclectic mix of different colours and textures which just about works. Decent minibar, good sized bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lina from SA

The location is perfect

Posted Apr 8, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Monaco Portland

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, friendly excellent location
Location: You are in the heart of Portland.
Great location. Usual excellent Monaco experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Abby from Silverdale, WA

Walk around town.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and lots of extras.
Cons: Our room temperature would not go below 66 and we all slept with no covers.
Location: Downtown Portland. Eat, shop, visit museums. It is all close. We loved the farmers market and Saturday market.
Our stay was short, but sweet! The whole family stayed for two nights this past weekend and we had a wonderful time. We arrived just in time for hosted wine hour and the kids enjoyed painting and playing games while the adults enjoyed a glass of wine. We enjoyed walking all around Portland and loved our location at Hotel Monaco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Washington, DC

Absolutely delightful hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: decor, cleanliness, friendly staff, and ideal location
Cons: lower room rates
Location: location was ideal, convenient to public transportation, and easy walk to shopping and dining
My recent stay at Hotel Monaco in Portland was delightful. The accommodations were among the best I have experienced. The hotel and food service staff was friendly and responsive. I look forward to my next stay at a Kimpton hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Megan from Scottsdale, Arizona

Wonderful hotel!!!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: So very comfortable and like a home away from home. Beautiful rooms and so clean - I love it when a hotel is clean.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: TJ Maxx is a few blocks away. Portland Saturday Market, The Mall up the street.
I would have loved to stay in the hotel for a lot longer than six nights. It is in a superb location and the hotel employees go way over board to help you with anything you need. The beds are wonderful!!! Clean, clean, clean and well kept old hotel. You can walk to so many places and you really do not need a car. This hotel has so much charm and history as many of the hotels and buildings around here do. Tons of shopping and you can get your hair done and nails right next door. I did not try the food but I heard it was wonderful from some other people staying at the hotel. Try this hotel you will be soooo happy you did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Awesome experience!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Check-in was flawless, 5 mins max. Staff was helpful, provided a map of downtown pdx and recommended places to eat nearby. Lobby area was swanky and hip. 5-6pm free wine/beer a nice opportunity to meet other guest. Room had all ammenaties, comfy bed and pillows. Leopard and zebra print robes were pimp. Dogs everywhere, adorable with no doggy smells. Hotel is centrally located to all the action. You could walk or catch the MAX to everything, no car needed. It was difficult to decide where to eat or drink as there were so many choices. Ive stayed in some dumps for $150 a night, this was nicer than upscale hotels in vegas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Lovely hotel, very comfortable and even luxurious

Posted Apr 2, 2014
In town for business, decided to stay the extra night. Stayed in 616 (I think) and it was lovely - large sitting area, king bed, everything perfectly comfortable and a nice break from the grind! Would definitely stay again. They also cater to guests with dogs so I enjoyed getting some puppy-love while I was away from my own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christina from Hawaii

So cute!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
I was completely satisfied with my experience at Hotel Modera. The rooms are incredibly clean considering it is a pet-friendly hotel. The location is ideal with many bars and restaurants within walking distance. I couldn't have been happier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly and quirky hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: I was here on business. The internet was dependable, there was lots of space in my room to work (a table, bigger than a desk).
Cons: I didn't think anything could be improved, but if you don't like dogs, don't stay here.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Monaco Portland. Our room was amazing--we thought we were getting a regular king room, but it turned out to be a suite. The cost was better than the conference hotels I was supposed to book at. We were on the hypoallergenic floor, which turned out to be especially important because this is a pet-friendly hotel with a lot of dogs, and I have asthma. The lobby had something going on every day--cofee and a very fun hot chocolate bar in the mornings, wine and beer in the evenings (all free!), plus there was a popsicle day while we were there, with a freezer full of popsicles all day. This is a great hotel for people traveling with kids and dogs. The decorating scheme is very trendy and quirky, which I liked. There is a restaurant, the Red Star Tavern, on the ground floor, which has reasonable prices and trendy food. We ate there for breakfast and the happy hour. The location is convenient to public transportation, close to four different train lines. There are also very nice shops within walking distance, from Macy's to Luis Vuitton.