Ratings based on 1,005 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Comeback Trail

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Wrote in my last review that this property was tired, but that renovations were underway. Admittedly, almost anything in mid-winter urban Maine looks "tired." The pool area has now been renovated and is more pleasant. There are signs of work in progress all about. The hotel itself is very well located for any activity in S. Portland, and is very accessible to Rts 95/295 and the Portland jetport. Portland is also easily accessible. The room itself in both cases has been very comfortable and clean, no problems in this regard. The staff still seems a bit lackadaisical (one front desk person was eating his luncheon sandwich as he talked to me). However, for the price and location, this remains a good deal that is getting better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: its great if going to air port will try again
Cons: cleaniness in the room the bathrooms have dirt along the edges of floor
one rm out of three was filty garage in room dirty other two were good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: It lacked nearby restaurants
Everything was good. Our room was perfectly located. The indoor pool was warm. The breakfast had more than most, including yogurt, scrambled eggs & sausage
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2015
it was alright. Wasn't quite up too par with what I had in mind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Easy Access to Highway

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The pool and the breakfast.
This hotel did it's job. It had easy access off the highway, the staff was polite, and they were clean. For an added bonus they offered a delicious breakfast with make your own waffles and a nice indoor pool. It was the perfect entertainment for my 5-year old. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Nice hotel right near highway

Posted Mar 15, 2015
This Howard Johnson is very close to the highway which is convenient. There are multiple stores in the immediate area, most gas station style. It is also not far from a mall and some good restaurants. The hotel room was very clean and the staff (especially Zack) were helpful and very nice. The bed was a little uncomfortable and the pillows were pretty horrible but the rest of the room is what I expected. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Rt. 1

Posted Mar 4, 2015
This is a physically tired property. That said, it is trying, with renovations to the pool taking place while I was in it. The staff has a homeless look, with the breakfast attendant attending more to his phone than to the patrons, no identifying name tags on anyone. That said, the room was neat and clean and the heater didn't roar on and off all night as most do. If you're interested in anything in S. Portland, the non-touristy side of Portland, then this location can't be beat. It's opposite a Best Western and Quality Inn, but, all things considered, worth it. Hopefully it will rise like a Phoenix.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a night away

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I had loud neighbors and people above us hanging the whole night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

reasonably priced hotel near Maine mall and route1

Posted Feb 11, 2015
needed to stay near biddeford for a child's gymnastics competition and this was the closest hotel left since i delayed purchasing a room. within 20-25 min of the biddeford high school which was a reasonable distance IMO. every hotel employee that we came across was kind and helpful. rooms were very clean. hotel pool was closed the first night due to repairs but we were offered a free shuttle to the sister hotel for pool use. next day pool was open and you could tell that renovations were happening but the pool area and the hall leading to the pool were still kept clean and safe. paint colors ad wallpaper mayhem been a little dated, but i care more about cleanliness and hospitality. those were A+ IMO. I would definitely stay here again! great $, great service, and centrally located to Maine mall, rt.1, and plenty of convenience/grocery/restaurants within minutes :)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joaniefrom Moncton

Needs renovations

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was alright, it needs renovations it's old .... The room was somewhat clean hair in the bathtub kinda grossed me out. And well I don't think I would stay there again