Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mu from Sullivan, ME

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The room was nice, room service great. We were on the ground floor, which had a back door onto a grassy area-- great for the little dog with us.
Cons: The heating system was a bit noisy-- the fan coming on and off woke us the first night.
Location: Fairly convenient to downtown Portland, with art museum, bookshops and lots of interesting eateries.
We stayed around the motel mostly, because of health reasons, poor weather and the fact that we had a little dog in our care. Who would have thunk HoJo's had restaurants attached that could please snobby foodies like us? Room service from Seasons and lunch fro the Egg and I were both highly acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura

Stay before flying

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Proximity to airport, parking accomidations, shuttle service to airport.
Cons: nothing
I had an early morning flight out of Portland and we were experiencing yet another darn snowstorm! I came to Portland from South China the night before my morning flight to try and beat the weather and avoid traveling at 4am in blizzard conditions. The staff were wonderful and the room was super comfortable. Shuttle to the airport was so convenient!! Thank you so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Maine

Very friendly

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Nice hotel and restraunts. Staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arleen from Springfield, NH

Weekend Away

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Happy employees!! Clean good location a good value for the money
Cons: Queen beds instead of full.
Location: location is good. The ocean is not too far, but you do have to drive into downtown Portland.
Hello, We have stay at this hotel before and it is worth the money. Clean and very nice help always cheerful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yeti from Portland Maine

Nice hotel iffy restaurant

Posted Feb 21, 2014
The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Wifi signal was strong. Beds were nice. The on site restaurant Seasons was not so great, the service was well poor not because the waitress didnt know her job she was just the onlu one to wait all the tables and seat all the customers. She didnt have time to bus tables between customers so she would have to make new customers wait longer to be seated. The food was decent and well proportioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel in a great area

Posted Feb 12, 2014
It felt almost like home :) great time great place and friendly people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel convenient location

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable reasonable priced
Location: Great location easy access from interstate close to shopping areas
Had a good experience clean room friendly staff location was great close to shopping areas.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Lincolnville, ME

Hotel was close to the mall.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Beds were too small and no comforters on the beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Northern Maine

Great Choice for a Portland Area Stay

Posted Jan 31, 2014
I stayed for two nights at the Howard Johnson Plaza in Portland during a visit to southern Maine. The facility has a convenient, central location, with easy access to the highway and main routes through the city. The jetport, Freeport, the Maine Mall, and the Old Port were only a few minutes' drive from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room did not have a particular feature that I wanted, but the manager upgraded me to a room that included it at no extra cost without my even having to ask. I was very impressed! My room was clean, quiet and comfortable, which are the three big things I seek during any hotel stay. It wasn't fancy, but most of my time in it was spent in bed with my eyes closed, so who cares? Despite the proximity to the turnpike and some busy streets, the traffic noise was not noticeable in my room. I did not avail myself of the pool, hot tub, or exercise room, but I did take a look at them and they were very well maintained. There are two on-site restaurants, for which Howard Johnson's provides discount coupons. I didn't try Seasons Grille, but I did very much enjoy my breakfast at The Egg and I. Great food and wonderful service there. There are plenty of restaurants, gas stations, and shopping opportunities nearby as well. I enjoyed my stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza in Portland, and will likely stay there again on my next trip to that area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2014