Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Cute and moderate but cramped.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Cute, charming, close to historic Portland and harbor.
Cons: Offer fewer but more-expanded rooms and bigger public space for breakfast.
I thought I was lucky to find a moderately priced room in Portland in July, but the room, although cute and clean, was very monastic--twin bed, shared bath, and very tiny, like half of a dorm room at college. The stairs are pretty steep to the third-floor walk-up (no elevator, so don't bring noting heavy!). A simply breakfast was included, but there was barely room to sit. For the money, I think I would go farther out next time for more space and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The room was very nice and comfortable and I would recommend it highly. It was central to most places we wanted to visit and easy to get to. The staff was highly accommodating since expedia did not put us in a room that we expected. If anyone should get a bad rating it should be expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tina from High Springs

Lovely surprise

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good deal for the price. Great staff, good breakfast. Wasn't crazy about the shared bathroom which I didn't realize when I made my reservation. Room very clean of course it is a historic in so very pleasanly old fashioned. No elevator so if you don't do steps get the lower floor. My only complaint was towels could be nicer. Yes I would go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A

Very Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice staff, clean room, and what a great discovery. Comfortable queen bed and AC made the total package. Only two things that made me cringe; 1) not enough parking for all guests; ended up having to park in the restaurant parking lot behind the Inn but was assured its monitored. 2) No elevator- not truly bothered by the climbing of stairs but more annoyed of the map I had to take to find my room. While an elevator is a convenience, it's also a central/starting point. Add a winding staircase to the twist and turns . . . Oof. I will stay here again. Can't beat the rate, especially since I feel you get great value for what you pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Winslow, ME

Right downtown convenience

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Rustic, comfortable bed.
Cons: sharing a bathroom with another guest.
Location: Right downtown near everything. Great location
The Inn was very rustic. Great staff. Room comfortable, however it was on the 4th floor and no elevator!!! There were no rooms available on a lower floor. It was very difficult for me to climb all those stairs, narrow stairways and reletive steep steps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HoJo from South Dakota

Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2014
We stayed one evening at the Inn at St. John. It was within a mile (walking distance for us) of lots of different attractions in town. We were able to take in a SeaDogs game, walk to our rental car, and take leisurely strolls through town. The hotel itself was wonderful! We had a room with a private bath. It was the best night sleep we've had on our entire trip! The bed was super comfortable, clean, and the staff was incredibly kind. Every time we went anyway they offered to take our bags for us, and they always had a few goodies in the lobby that we could help ourselves to. We would definitely stay there again AND recommend it to our family and friends!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Juice from NYC

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I fell in love with this hotel. The rooms were very pretty. All so unique and with much character. The bathroom in the hallway was kinda cool. Not as inconvenient as one would think. I totally want to go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Alfred from Anchorage

Decent hotel at decent price

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Didn't see much as I was literally in at midnight and out the next morning. Wasn't a fan of the shared bathroom but at the price point, I really couldn't complain. Very much like a B&B on a much larger scale. Would recommend for those on a short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B close to the Portland SeaDogs stadium

Posted May 31, 2014
There was just one bathroom for the upper floor (for 4 or 5 rooms), but we never had much of a wait for it. Free parking in back, good restaurants within walking distance, helpful staff. I'd go back.