Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Brookline, MA

great inn, especially if you like stairs

Posted Dec 1, 2014
I had a wonderful experience at this inn, which was available and affordable during busy season. The Inn is cozy, beautifully appointed, and the parking convenient. My room was up on top, with very many stairs to climb,, and I had a private hall bath. I couldn't have been happier, even with the slightly too-far-to-walk to downtown location, because I was so comfortable in my room when I did retire from exploring the downtown.area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Location: The only downside is the location, but you should know this when booking it. The bus station is across the street. Quick cheap cab ride to old port.
Nice and clean, very nice staff. I think I would have liked a room with a private bathroom more, but with that being said I never saw another person in the halls or in the bathroom and we we're there on a Friday night.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom almere

oud, en best wel brak

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: oud, klassiek. mooie kamer.
Cons: rommelig trappenhuis. rechts, links en dan weer middenin. parkeerplaats is te klein voor het aantal gasten.
Location: slechte buurt. veel junks. parkeerplaats is te klein. verder is de maine mall eigenlijk het enige dat er te doen is.
Een oud gebouw. Redelijk onderhouden, maar het kan absoluut beter. De goedkope kamers liggen o de hoogste verdieping en de trap is smal, steil en voelt echt stevig. Voor het toilet moet je de openbare gang op. En dan met een sleutel je eigen (of gedeelde, want die hebben ze ook) toilet open maken. Zeer, zeer, zeer gehorig. De ruimtes zijn met krantenpapier in verschillende kamertjes verdeeld. De buurt is niet fris. Junks, hangers, allemaal wat minder. Personeel kan het allemaal niet zo boeien.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

One Criticism

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The oldy worldy charm and comfort the hoteloffered, as well as excellent staff.
Cons: More information on the steep climb to the rooms above ground floor level.
Location: Excellent shopping, restaurants and the trip to Peak's Island is a must, as is the visit to Portland Head Lighthouse.
The hotel and staff were excellent; it is a pleasant place to stay and conveniently located. If any criticism could be made, it would be in relation to the steep stairs one has to climb to reach even the first floor; for elderly or guests with physical impairments it is a difficult climb with no lift/elevator available; this said, the staff could not have been more accommodating to assist with baggage and once in the room, it was found to be very comfortable and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Awesome hole in the wall!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
We loved everything about this hotel from start to finish. Parking was easy, with plenty of signage. D├ęcor was dated but in an endearing way. Cookies upon arrival. Friendly and accommodating staff. The architecture of the building is the real fun part, with winding stairs and neat nooks and crannies. Everything was super clean and you can tell they take pride in their space. Our room was so quaint and comfortable, with everything you might possibility need, including great shower products! For being so close to the city center, it was on a pretty quiet street. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom across the hall was immaculately kept. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and healthy! This hotel is an amazing price for the money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston Spa, Yorkshire

Charming property with great staff

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The staff. The free breakfast. the free parking.
Cons: info on where to access the bathroom on check in.
Location: Opposite the bus station at the top end of Congress Street, within a few minutes walk of all the bars and restaurants on Congress Street
Staff were very welcoming and efficient. I arrived very wet and with heavy luggage, and the porter carried my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs as there was no elevator. Coffee/tea/ water available in reception 24 hours a day was a nice touch. Staff were also very helpful when I needed extra time to check out. The hotel felt very homely, and the room was comfortable and clean. I requested an iron and ironing board and it arrived within minutes. The only hassle was having to use the bathroom across the corridor, but I knew this when I booked it, and this is to be expected from an old hotel. Overall a very charming property with great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom leeds

Good location but...

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good given the price
Cons: En suite and an elevator.
Good hotel for the location but bear in mind you may have a shared bathroom (and toilet) and a room on the third floor without an elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine place to stay especially for the price...

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Fine place to stay especially for the price but didn't like semi private bath. I didn't realize this until I got there. It appears most of the rooms have a private bath.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Cute and moderate but cramped.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Cute, charming, close to historic Portland and harbor.
Cons: Offer fewer but more-expanded rooms and bigger public space for breakfast.
I thought I was lucky to find a moderately priced room in Portland in July, but the room, although cute and clean, was very monastic--twin bed, shared bath, and very tiny, like half of a dorm room at college. The stairs are pretty steep to the third-floor walk-up (no elevator, so don't bring noting heavy!). A simply breakfast was included, but there was barely room to sit. For the money, I think I would go farther out next time for more space and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The room was very nice and comfortable and I would recommend it highly. It was central to most places we wanted to visit and easy to get to. The staff was highly accommodating since expedia did not put us in a room that we expected. If anyone should get a bad rating it should be expedia.