Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Cute and moderate but cramped.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Cute, charming, close to historic Portland and harbor.
Cons: Offer fewer but more-expanded rooms and bigger public space for breakfast.
I thought I was lucky to find a moderately priced room in Portland in July, but the room, although cute and clean, was very monastic--twin bed, shared bath, and very tiny, like half of a dorm room at college. The stairs are pretty steep to the third-floor walk-up (no elevator, so don't bring noting heavy!). A simply breakfast was included, but there was barely room to sit. For the money, I think I would go farther out next time for more space and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The room was very nice and comfortable and I would recommend it highly. It was central to most places we wanted to visit and easy to get to. The staff was highly accommodating since expedia did not put us in a room that we expected. If anyone should get a bad rating it should be expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Winslow, ME

Right downtown convenience

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Rustic, comfortable bed.
Cons: sharing a bathroom with another guest.
Location: Right downtown near everything. Great location
The Inn was very rustic. Great staff. Room comfortable, however it was on the 4th floor and no elevator!!! There were no rooms available on a lower floor. It was very difficult for me to climb all those stairs, narrow stairways and reletive steep steps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HoJo from South Dakota

Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2014
We stayed one evening at the Inn at St. John. It was within a mile (walking distance for us) of lots of different attractions in town. We were able to take in a SeaDogs game, walk to our rental car, and take leisurely strolls through town. The hotel itself was wonderful! We had a room with a private bath. It was the best night sleep we've had on our entire trip! The bed was super comfortable, clean, and the staff was incredibly kind. Every time we went anyway they offered to take our bags for us, and they always had a few goodies in the lobby that we could help ourselves to. We would definitely stay there again AND recommend it to our family and friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Alfred from Anchorage

Decent hotel at decent price

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Didn't see much as I was literally in at midnight and out the next morning. Wasn't a fan of the shared bathroom but at the price point, I really couldn't complain. Very much like a B&B on a much larger scale. Would recommend for those on a short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B close to the Portland SeaDogs stadium

Posted May 31, 2014
There was just one bathroom for the upper floor (for 4 or 5 rooms), but we never had much of a wait for it. Free parking in back, good restaurants within walking distance, helpful staff. I'd go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy Old World Inn

Posted May 29, 2014
A beautiful little spot chalk full of charm. Close walk to downtown. Easy highway access. My favourite place to stay in Portland. So worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ed Powell

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from edmonton, AB

Close to the airport

Posted May 22, 2014
It is good for a quick stay if you have an early morning flight out of Portland airport. I would recommend packing a light bag for overnight as there is no elevator and I had to carry my suitcase up to the 4th floor. They did offer to help with bags but I didn't realize what I was up against.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com