Ratings based on 1,917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Great Location

Posted May 24, 2015
Nice central location. Next to trolley line. Clean affordable basic room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
convenient and affordable. CLEAN! and the staff was super helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Very good location if you have a conference at the convention center. Fair enough and good price. You can spend a couple of days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

It's ok

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Hotel is very old and needs remodeled. But the staff is helpful and friendly. Great location and room was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Dave L., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The building is old and we knew that when we acquired the building just over a year ago but we really liked the location and we are glad it was convenient for you. We are constantly making improvements and we hope next time you travel to Portland you will stop in to see what's new!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edgewood, WA

Inn at the Convention Center

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: As above. We thought the beds were comfortable and the closeness of the MAX transportation. The shower was good.
Cons: Having a bigger bathroom counter. Having a fridge and microwave.
Location: Location was close to city center going on the MAX. You could walk to restaurants, grocery store, mall, coffee.
The beds were comfortable. The MAX was noisy, but we did not hear other guests except in the bathroom. We thought we were getting a fridge and microwave in our room, but there was not any. (Booked through other party.) It was convenient to have the MAX station so close for transportation. The bathroom counter was too small for two people. I would hate to see how it would be for four people, which is what the two queen size beds would hold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Dave L., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always improving and customer satisfaction and feedback is what drives us. Thank you for mentioning our new beds and we apologize for not being able to accommodate a fridge and a microwave, we are working on getting those into every room. Like I said we are constantly improving and we hope next time you are in town you will stop in to see what's new!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

I'll tell you why

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Location is all it has going for it.
Cons: Everything other than location.
Location: Close to the wonderful Portland Metro, so Portland is your oyster.
I know what many of you are thinking; you're thinking I'm going to a conference at the convention centre, this hotel is right beside it, so why didn't the organizers put this down as one of the conference hotels? Trust your organizers! They didn't tell you to stay at this hotel for good reason. I didn't trust my organizers, and this hotel was truly awful, and I'm not someone who get hysterical about a hair in the sink or lived in furniture either. This place ranks among the 5 worst hotels I've ever stayed in (and in two of those I piled furniture against the door at night). This hotel is very dirty and unbelievably noisy and has an overwhelming stench of toxic cleaning products (which can't have cleaned much). What's odd and unfortunate about this hotel is that it actually has really good bones: the elevator is set away from the rooms as are the ice machines, the rooms are well sized, and there is lots of parking. If there were a reality show for before and after hotel renos, this would be a perfect before that wouldn't take that much to make really good, and given the location, why wouldn't you try??
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Dave L., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for your stay being less than enjoyable and hope that next time you come to Portland you might stop in to see some of the improvements we are doing. Your feedback is helps us and we appreciate it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The location was great. Everything was so close - transit, restaurants. And convention center was just across the street. Free parking. Since it is close to MAX light rail, it was a bit noisy. It's great if you are not too sensitive to the noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Yakima. , WA

Good location

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Just really outdated an old and smells ........................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
great location. bit careworn, but everything works(water/heating/air con).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by David Larkin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do understand the building is a bit dated but we are working hard to upgrade the inside of our rooms with new beds/bedding and soon we will be working on replacing furniture and we should have all new TV's by the end of May. We hope you will consider booking with us again next time you travel to Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, IL

Perfect for the Convention Center

Posted Mar 31, 2015
The hotel is adjacent to the Oregon Convention Center and the city tram line. Although it is older, my room (#404) was large with spacious bath and closet, good lighting, bar with two stools, comfortable chair, and CLEAN. For the price, you cannot beat it. Free parking. It sounds too good to be true. You don't have to pay through the nose for a great Portland experience.