Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

This hotel was nice, quirky, and simple.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
The hotel itself is about a mile or so from downtown, right on Burnside which gets you to major attractions like Voodoo, Powell's, the Saturday market, and the waterfront very easily. We actually liked the neighborhood that the Jupiter was in better than downtown Portland which can leave you feeling uneasy with the COPIOUS amounts of homelessness and dirt and garbage. I have lived in cities my whole adult life so I was no stranger to these things, but even I was uncomfortable. However, the Jupiter's neighborhood was clean, had good food, good coffee, and shops, and some great local wineries all within walking distance (we tried Enso's - $10 for a 5 glass flight of wine? Yes, please!). Staff was great and accommodating. Their restaurant, Doug Fir's, has good food and a 10% discount for breakfast. Overall I would stay here again and recommend to someone. A little off the beaten path of downtown Portland, but that can be a good thing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Decent place to stay a 15 minute walk from the OCC

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Nice staff. I was there during very hot weather and the air conditioning kept up just fine. Room was very clean. Nice pillows!
Cons: My "smoke-free" room was just above a bar patio filled with smokers in the evenings, and my door didn't fit tight enough to keep the smoke out.
Location: A 15 minute walk from the Oregon Convention Center.
The Jupiter Hotel is a decent place to stay that is a 15 minute walk from the Oregon Convention Center. Nice staff. I was there during very hot weather and the air conditioning kept up just fine. Room was very clean. Nice pillows! But my "smoke-free" room was just above a bar patio filled with smokers in the evenings, and my door didn't fit tight enough to keep the smoke out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jennifer from tacoma

all around amazing!

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
Love love loved it. Amazing room, comfortable bed! Chalkboard door so we can leave our own message while were there, a wall sided photo of John Lennon, flat screen tv, most comfortable bed I've ever slept on at a hotel with goosedown comforter and pillows!!! All around amazing! The staff is what sent it over the top for me. They were awesome!! Really made we feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
awesome staff. They were very helpful. The neighborhood was great. So many places to walk to. The Doug Fir Lounge was very good. Loved the smoking patio. They even have an art gallery in the lobby and I got an amazing print.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eugene oregon

Perfect for a show and a birthday

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Amazing lobby staff. Free parking and late checkout for my 40th bday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Friendliest staff and awesome 60s Americana

Posted Mar 14, 2015
When I arrived at the hotel I was given the warmest welcome by the staff. We arrived hours before check in time but we were offered a room right away which was nice. We were directed to the car park which is just under the hotel, so it's pretty handy. The room was really nice. Really comfortable, lots of blankets, really nice toiletries, good magazines to look through, nice art on the wall and a fun blackboard to draw on! Our favourite bit about the hotel was the Douglas Fir restaurant. If you like Mad Men/A Single Man styling then you need to check it out. It's a 60s dream. Also, the food and cocktails are excellent. There were some really good bands listed in the venue downstairs too, though we didn't go down there this time. I love this place and can't wait to go back :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Darius from federal way

jupiter stay

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
Fun place to stay for a trip in portland
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

convenient to doug fir is what you pay for

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is up-front about the noise. There is a lot of it. Even if the lounge staff hadn't been banging things around at 4 am, the price is high for what you get. At this place, you're paying for the convenience of being at the steps of the Doug Fir Lounge. Hotel desk clerks were friendly and helpful. I've stayed here twice, but would not do so again if I wasn't in town for a show at the Doug Fir.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
refrigerator closet iron and ironing board Safe or microwave