Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms are dated.
The room #107 was marked as non-smoking, but it was difficult to breathe because someone obviously smoked there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
We came in at 2am. Our room was kept. Staff was lovely and accommodating. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth, NS

Solid motel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Close to train/bus station and highway. Good place for a stop over. Clean. In good shape, well maintained. All the basics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilton ME

Given the price, excellent

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Given the price---the cheapest I could find in Portland or South Portland---it was excellent. The bed was comfy, the room was large and it's convenience on US 1 was perfect. I didn't even mind Dunkin Donuts plus fruit for breakfast. Of you're expecting the Parker House, you'll be disappointed, but at the price, you should be thrilled.
2 out of 5
by Al from Wilmington, DE

Wi-fi is not working for rooms farther away

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Key looks pretty secured. It is electrical.
Location: Drive up about 10mins to Downtown Portland, ME. It is a pretty nice place.
Wi-fi is not working properly for rooms that are across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good value

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: value, room size, room accessories
Cons: breakfast
Location: Maine Mall is very close, Portland is also close
The motel was clean, comfortable, quiet, and very close to the Maine Mall. It is unusual to find a fridge and microwave at their relatively low price. Our only disappointment was the breakfast - which is really not a breakfast - a dunkin donut and a cup of coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel close to downtown and beaches

Posted May 13, 2014
Our room was very nice, only about 10 minute drive to downtown Portland. Free breakfast was only Dunkin donuts and coffee though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dmitri S. from State College, PA

Stay was OK

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I ended up staying at Knights Inn South Portland for two nights during the last winter snow blast that whipped through Maine. Check in was fine, effificient. Front desk person was pleasant. Room took a little while to heat up but once it did, it stayed comfortable. Basic room. Pretty clean. Bathroom stayed a bit cold due to no heat in bathroom. Bed fairly comfortable. Fridge and microwave in room. complimentary breakfast was Dunkin' Donuts which they bought from across the street. Not a bad driving distance to city center of Portland. I did appreciate that the hotel did plow out the parking lot in a reasonable period of time during the storm. It's an OK place for a night or two if your plan is to spend most of your time in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Catherine smith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Knight's Inn was mostly fine for what it is; a cheap place to crash if that's what you're looking for, The room was clean and comfortable. My problem was with the service. First of all we arrived 2 days removed from a minor snowstorm (3-4 inches), and although the parking lot had been plowed, the actual parking spaces had not, so there was no way of avoiding standing/walking through a couple inches of snow. At checkout the next day, it was still the same. Also, it took 20 minutes to check in, although i was the only one in the lobby at the time. The woman at the desk did not know how to access reservations on her computer, and complained loudly to me about it. I really felt like I had screwed up her day.