Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Very nice Hotel.. but noisy HVAC system

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: reasonable room price, restaurant with high quality cuisine, close proximately to the old port, beaches and site seeing..
Cons: Not sure what could be done about the loud heater fan.
Location: Children's Museum.
Overall, the Hotel is very nice, comfortable bedding, indoor pool, very spacious rooms, a top notch restaurant with friendly staff.. The only complaint I have is related to the in-room heating and AC system. My suite on the 5th floor had a wall mounted heater/AC unit with a very loud fan that triggered on and off frequently enough to keep me awake for several hours throughout the night. I do not know if these units are used in all of the rooms, but if you require piece and quiet for a comfortable nights sleep as I do, I would certainly ask prior to booking..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Ed, Hotel Management
Jeff from New Hampshire. Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Sable Oaks. We are pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay here with us. We are sorry that the noise from the HVAC unit was disturbing to you. I have asked our engineering staff to look at the unit to determine if there is a mechanical reason for the excessive noise. We would like to assure that this problem does not effect future guests assigned to the same room. We hope that you will again give us an opportunity to serve you here the next time your travels bring you to South Portland. Thank you for your past patronage. Regards, Ed Palmer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amherst, ME

Nothing more, nothing less

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Sort of basic room, nothing out of the ordinary. I expected more out of a Marriott chain. AC very noisy...it was annoying. I have stayed here many times but I may look for a different hotel next time I am in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ed Palmer, Hotel Management
Karina. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your guest room here at the Marriott Sable Oaks. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible and I am sorry to hear we let you down during this stay. We truly hope that you will give us an opportunity again to serve you when you travel to the greater Portland area. Our goal is your complete satisfaction. Regards, Ed Palmer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New England

family visit

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: very comfortable hotel
Cons: heating system was noisy and woke me up throughout the night when it came on.
Location: excellent location due to being close to mall, jetport, restaurants, and our family.
We went to see family in Maine and stayed at Sable Oaks Marriott. The hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly. It was conveniently located to the mall and jetport. Very nice overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rumford

Very nice and relaxing.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: All of it was great.
Cons: Nothing it was great
Location: It is in the perfect spot. Not right in the middle of things but yet right there close Mall, restaraunts
I was very happy. We were looking to get away and swim and use the hot tub.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Hotel with pool for kids

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Marriot review Booked one night with family of 5 and grandparents. Two rooms next to each other (not adjoining). Chose hotel so kids (all under 10y.o.) could swim Sat. Afternoon and Sun. AM. Pool was fine but chemicals were not "balanced". Severe eye irritation, more than usual for some. Hotel closed pool as of Sunday AM so no swimming before checkout. Fire alarm Saturday night! Handled well but obvious inconvenience. Had to ask for some form of compensaton. I am a rewards member so they offered points. I don't use points much so it meant nothing to me. Asked for a free night stay. They provided enough points for a free night. Clean, comfortable, etc. hotel so we will try again with free night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Not a good stay. We arrived tired and left tired. Had issues that required us to be evacuated from our room for awhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We never like to hear that our guests leave tired. The fire alarm was unfortunate and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Regards, Ed Palmer general manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

so port

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Staff was great
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel in need of carpet cleaning

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Overall the hotel and staff were nice, the only challenge was the smell of the carpet in the hallway and room. If there was no odor then they would have received 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on the odor of our carpet. This is the time of year that we completely clean all of our carpets and upholstery with an outside contracted company. I am sure if you were to return you would find the odor to be very pleasant. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Great hotel, pool, lobby, room, bed. Had a wonderful time and will be returning to stay longer for my birthday in April.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Colinfrom Rapid City

Pretty hot

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only discomfort was the heater which alternately made the room too hot, then too cold.