Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New England

family visit

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: very comfortable hotel
Cons: heating system was noisy and woke me up throughout the night when it came on.
Location: excellent location due to being close to mall, jetport, restaurants, and our family.
We went to see family in Maine and stayed at Sable Oaks Marriott. The hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly. It was conveniently located to the mall and jetport. Very nice overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rumford

Very nice and relaxing.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: All of it was great.
Cons: Nothing it was great
Location: It is in the perfect spot. Not right in the middle of things but yet right there close Mall, restaraunts
I was very happy. We were looking to get away and swim and use the hot tub.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Hotel with pool for kids

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Marriot review Booked one night with family of 5 and grandparents. Two rooms next to each other (not adjoining). Chose hotel so kids (all under 10y.o.) could swim Sat. Afternoon and Sun. AM. Pool was fine but chemicals were not "balanced". Severe eye irritation, more than usual for some. Hotel closed pool as of Sunday AM so no swimming before checkout. Fire alarm Saturday night! Handled well but obvious inconvenience. Had to ask for some form of compensaton. I am a rewards member so they offered points. I don't use points much so it meant nothing to me. Asked for a free night stay. They provided enough points for a free night. Clean, comfortable, etc. hotel so we will try again with free night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Not a good stay. We arrived tired and left tired. Had issues that required us to be evacuated from our room for awhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We never like to hear that our guests leave tired. The fire alarm was unfortunate and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Regards, Ed Palmer general manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel in need of carpet cleaning

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Overall the hotel and staff were nice, the only challenge was the smell of the carpet in the hallway and room. If there was no odor then they would have received 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on the odor of our carpet. This is the time of year that we completely clean all of our carpets and upholstery with an outside contracted company. I am sure if you were to return you would find the odor to be very pleasant. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Great hotel, pool, lobby, room, bed. Had a wonderful time and will be returning to stay longer for my birthday in April.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Manager of the year

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere generated by the hotel staff
Cons: .
Location: Nearby the Mall and the highway
Everything about the stay was fantastic as one would expect from a Marriott. However the outstanding feature was the General Manager Ed Palmer. It had snowed heavily and when I got up early to clear our car, I noticed Marriott staff clearing the cars in the lot. It was when I went to find the manager to thank him/her for the service that I realized that it was Ed Palmer, the general manager with senior staff that were clearing the snow ladden cars. It was also evident from the interactions I witnessed during the day that this Ed treated his staff extremely well, and the atmosphere engendered by Ed made this one of our most memorable stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portmouth NH

Very nice . Staff friendly

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Would stay again and recommend . Quit , clean and relaxing . Nice pool also .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NE Mass

Okay Hotel, Not Great

Posted Nov 10, 2014
It was generally an okay hotel, and the price was good. The staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The room was generally fine. The bed and the temperature controls were excellent. The TV was annoying because after a minute or two, the brightness would go down and there was no apparent way to adjust it. One of the lampshades was broken and had been repaired with scotch tape; and there was a nickel-size white spot on the arm of the couch. The outer shower curtain looked like it could use a cleaning. In the morning, when I tried to call the desk, I discovered that the phone did not work. All in all, it was adequate and we would not rule it out when we next visit Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great Visit

Posted Nov 10, 2014
My husband and I needed a hotel for one night for a quick family visit in Portland. We used to live in Portland so going up to Maine is always a treat but this was our first stay at the Sable Oaks Marriott. The hotel staff were attentive and warm, eager to make sure we were having a pleasant stay. The room was nice and quiet, and had enough space for me and my husband to settle in comfortably. I'm seven months pregnant so it's not easy for me to get comfortable at night but the bed and pillows were excellent and I slept well. The shower was great too- good water pressure and temp. The hotel was certainly built in the 80's but it is well cared for and clean. Checkout was very quick and once again the staff were attentive and pleasant. The next time we venture up to Maine to see family this hotel will be our first choice.