Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Lovely hotel in office park—quiet, attractive

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Excellent mattress and pillows
Cons: I had asked for two queen beds and we got one king. It was not the end of the world.
This hotel is in an office park. I liked that: lots of trees, very quiet. There is a golf club next door. Our room overlooked the lovely pool and had a sliding door into a little garden-ish thing. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly. Solid business-class hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Only room left with a king size bed..

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The room was a little small for a king size bed and pull out sofa. Also there was no regular soap, only scented shower gel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danvers, MA

why bother having windows.. for how much???

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The parking lot was close to the door.
Cons: Rates!
Location: Portland Maine is an absolute gem of a coast city. Old Port is fantastic. The night life and local music scene must be experienced.
We payed over 300.00 for a dated room with a view of a fence a foot from our window. We were actually on the third floor and literally had a fence within arms reach of the window. It was complete with trash piled up along the fence. I am horrified that Marriot would actually charge over 300.00 for such a room. I exclusively start at Marriot, with a rewards account. I will now reconsider my options. Yes, I did request a room change, and/or rate change, but was refused.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Mike, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback to us on your recent stay here at Sable Oaks. We are sorry that the location of your room overlooked our roof. The fence you referred to is placed to block the view of heating and air conditioning systems. We use these rooms only when the demand is high. This is also the reason our rates are high. We hope you found that our staff service was acceptable. We also hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with small rooms.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Rooms tiny, no amenities, pool very small, no refrigerator in room, no microwave in room, hotel in office park for business people.all the above should have been advertised.staff was pleasant, room was clean. It was just not the right location or size room.good for a single traveler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel here at Sable Oaks. We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the facilities and our location. We were very pleased however that you found our staff to be pleasant and our rooms to be clean. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Although we are located in an office park we are adjacent to an eighteen hole golf course and we are away from the hectic urban activity. Regards, Ed Palmer, general manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Be careful with non-refundable rooms

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Expedia Search
I and my girlfriend reserved a room for the 4th of July night at Marriott Portland at Sable Oaks. Weather was seeming great, and all the events were set for the 4th of July celebrations, we were very excited to go. We thought there would be no reason for not to go, and there was non-refundable room option, then we bought it to stay a nice hotel. Then, hurricane Arthur happened, and all the events were cancelled; but most importantly it wasn't safe to go Massachusetts to Maine coast during a hurricane. We called the hotel and tried to change our reservation the date because this was a situation developed out of our control, and effected whole coastal area and governmental organizations, not just us. However; they told us that neither they can't change the date nor they could do anything else. Be careful when you are making a reservation with this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Marianne, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear of your challenges with trying to cancel your reservation over the July 4th time period. Unfortunately when you book with Expedia you must cancel or change your reservations with them directly. We are unable to change the reservation without Expedia's approval. The reservation is subject to their booking policies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Foxboro, Massachusetts

Very Nice Hotel, Staff was very friendly!!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: Hotel was convientely located with minutes to Shopping, Restaurants and Major highways.
I was very please with my recent visit to the Marriott at Sable Oaks, Hotel was exceptionally clean and the Staff were all very friendly and accomadating. I could not have been more impressed with my visit, even the hotel grounds were perfectly maintained. Everything was Perfect and I can't wait to come to Maine for a visit, I would def. book this as my Stay! Def. Recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for Quality....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Brian Jackson

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient and meets the need

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel served me well. Staff friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted May 11, 2014
Everything was as expected staying @ a Marriott. Friendly, clean, comfortable & organized. My only complaint was- there was no coffee available @ 5 am!! No complementary coffee @ all & the Starbucks coffee was offered @6am. I expected that would be available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com