Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Manager of the year

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere generated by the hotel staff
Cons: .
Location: Nearby the Mall and the highway
Everything about the stay was fantastic as one would expect from a Marriott. However the outstanding feature was the General Manager Ed Palmer. It had snowed heavily and when I got up early to clear our car, I noticed Marriott staff clearing the cars in the lot. It was when I went to find the manager to thank him/her for the service that I realized that it was Ed Palmer, the general manager with senior staff that were clearing the snow ladden cars. It was also evident from the interactions I witnessed during the day that this Ed treated his staff extremely well, and the atmosphere engendered by Ed made this one of our most memorable stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portmouth NH

Very nice . Staff friendly

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Would stay again and recommend . Quit , clean and relaxing . Nice pool also .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NE Mass

Okay Hotel, Not Great

Posted Nov 10, 2014
It was generally an okay hotel, and the price was good. The staff was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The room was generally fine. The bed and the temperature controls were excellent. The TV was annoying because after a minute or two, the brightness would go down and there was no apparent way to adjust it. One of the lampshades was broken and had been repaired with scotch tape; and there was a nickel-size white spot on the arm of the couch. The outer shower curtain looked like it could use a cleaning. In the morning, when I tried to call the desk, I discovered that the phone did not work. All in all, it was adequate and we would not rule it out when we next visit Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great Visit

Posted Nov 10, 2014
My husband and I needed a hotel for one night for a quick family visit in Portland. We used to live in Portland so going up to Maine is always a treat but this was our first stay at the Sable Oaks Marriott. The hotel staff were attentive and warm, eager to make sure we were having a pleasant stay. The room was nice and quiet, and had enough space for me and my husband to settle in comfortably. I'm seven months pregnant so it's not easy for me to get comfortable at night but the bed and pillows were excellent and I slept well. The shower was great too- good water pressure and temp. The hotel was certainly built in the 80's but it is well cared for and clean. Checkout was very quick and once again the staff were attentive and pleasant. The next time we venture up to Maine to see family this hotel will be our first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Good food, comfortable bed and great staff. Would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We chose this location mostly because of the pool for my kids after a long drive. I was not pleased to see that there was a private function and the pool could not be used for a couple of hours due to a private function.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: quiet
Location: mall and restaurants nearby
Good and safe location. Refrigerator in room. Nice lobby restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newburyport, MA

Posted Oct 6, 2014
The most friendly staff ever!!! Great food at a great price. Brian, the bartender was excellent!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Nice hotel close to mall area

Posted Sep 30, 2014
The hotel was nice. I was a little disappointed in our room. It wasn't as nice as the pictures. Everyone was super friendly though and anything that was complained about was taken care of right away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2014 by Marianne, Hotel Management
Amanda, Thank you for your feed back on our property here at Sable Oaks. I am sorry you were disappointed with your guest room but very happy to hear that our associates attended to any of your service needs promptly and to your satisfaction. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will join us here again in the near future. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com