Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Always a great stay at sable oaks The hotel works hard at first satisfaction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Everything went great! Very helpful staff, knowledgable about area and how to get around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moncton NB

Not worth the money

Posted May 26, 2015
Room was small, especially with the addition of a cot. The beds sunk in the middle, not comfortable at all. Not at all worth the $199 that we paid. A dirty sock was underneath the ottoman when we moved it to set up the cot. Coffee and cups weren't replenished on Day 2. So many other cheaper options in the area that include breakfast. Big mistake on our part.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverton IL

Revisiting 1 of our favorite cities, Portland ME

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet location, enjoyed the pool and workout room.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast offered
Location: Portland Head Lighthouse and trails, DiMillo's Restaurant, unique shops in the downtown area.
The hotel itself was very clean, nice pool and workout room, did not offer complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Posted May 18, 2015
Attractive location and convenient to downtown. At end of airport runway so a little noisy early in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2015
I thought the room was a little small for the price point. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangor, ME

Great Staff

Posted May 16, 2015
Stayed one night when we went to see Laugh Shack comedy show in Westbrook. Not too far, and nice accommodations. Our second room was perfectly cleaned and very pleasant. The first room had a disagreeable odor, but the staff was superb about it and presented my husband with a new room key as he stepped off the elevator!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Very nice Hotel.. but noisy HVAC system

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: reasonable room price, restaurant with high quality cuisine, close proximately to the old port, beaches and site seeing..
Cons: Not sure what could be done about the loud heater fan.
Location: Children's Museum.
Overall, the Hotel is very nice, comfortable bedding, indoor pool, very spacious rooms, a top notch restaurant with friendly staff.. The only complaint I have is related to the in-room heating and AC system. My suite on the 5th floor had a wall mounted heater/AC unit with a very loud fan that triggered on and off frequently enough to keep me awake for several hours throughout the night. I do not know if these units are used in all of the rooms, but if you require piece and quiet for a comfortable nights sleep as I do, I would certainly ask prior to booking..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by Ed, Hotel Management
Jeff from New Hampshire. Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Sable Oaks. We are pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay here with us. We are sorry that the noise from the HVAC unit was disturbing to you. I have asked our engineering staff to look at the unit to determine if there is a mechanical reason for the excessive noise. We would like to assure that this problem does not effect future guests assigned to the same room. We hope that you will again give us an opportunity to serve you here the next time your travels bring you to South Portland. Thank you for your past patronage. Regards, Ed Palmer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from Canada

Okay. Nice pool area

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
Close to everything but away from noise. Lobby area nice and pool. Service in at desky very good...Rooms dated and sheets were ripped first night. Room cleaniness was okay. Would stay if cheaper as other hotel that I stayed at was better value for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chandra from Rockport, Maine

Great room - terribly noisy heating system!

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
I fully enjoyed my stay at Sable Oaks; however, my one (and really ONLY) complaint about my room in particular, was the noise from the heater. At one point we turned it off, which made the room a little chilly and uncomfortable - simply because we were tired of listening to it. During the night, it was particularly awful to be woken at the loud sound of the heater. BUT, the room was spotless, the service when I went to the front desk (because I forgot my toothbrush) or called to inquire on pool availability time - was excellent and friendly.