Ratings based on 1,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay, close to the river anworkshop

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: close to location of my workshop
Cons: larger may of surrounding area, so that you know where things are bike rental not so expensive.
Location: river walk, bike path and small shop.Eatery, seem to be hidden in building hard to find. You may of found them once but not easy to locate when you we
Good clean enviroment, close to river and other site seer dream. Good conference hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Pleasant hotel on the edge of downtown

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Staff knowledgeable and ready to give information
Cons: Room with bar fridge, bathroom fan, and a hall light that worked
Location: Located on the far edge of attractions, so a lot of walking to cross downtown area and back; however, close to boat excursions and parkway.
Hotel was pleasant, busy and conveniently located to attractions. However, room was small, no bar fridge, no fan in bathroom. Valet parking can be a pain if one needs an item from the car, plus constant tipping. Final meal in house was lacking in quality from other restaurants in area. I think if room had had patio doors with a wee balcony, we would have been more satisfied and not felt so claustrophobic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Nice, hotel. The staff at the restaurant are excellent.
Cons: Having a tea kettle instead of a coffee maker in the room would be nice.
Location: Right in front of the hotel there is a nice little boardwalk beside the river. However, going downtown is a 15-20 min walk.
The hotel is a quick walk to downtown however, it is not so close to the downtown that "downtown" should be in the title of the hotel. To get downtown one would need to walk 15-20 min.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would have been better if....

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location. Ambience.
Cons: Take better care of your guests and their vehicles.
Location: Micro breweries, shopping, restaurants and the Portland market are must sees!
Would have given a better review if it weren't for a couple of things: 1.The A/C in the room is so loud it's near impossible to sleep unless you want to overheat due to no A/C. 2.The room was very small and the bathroom was so small it was difficult to move around in. 3.The valet service damaged my vehicle (a door dent. nothing major) Aside from that the location is fantastic and the staff are friendly. Although no one had offered at any point to take my bags up for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We're sorry to hear your room did not meet your expectations and that someone damaged your vehicle. You may be interested to know our hotel will be renovating all guest rooms at the end of this year. We hope you come to stay with us again and if we can be of any assistance regarding your car, please let us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Good DT location, 20 min walk from BreweryDistrict

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The hotel room is very good. The bed is very comfortable. There is complimentary tea and coffee in the room. The bathroom is great.
Cons: Wifi should be free, this is the 21st century. Only parking option is valet for $35/night. We did not even use our car for 2 days. Need self park.
Location: The shopping nearby is great and the brewpubs even better. Went to Rogue, Deschutes, McMenamin's, and Rock Bottom. Rock Bottom was best.
The Marriott Hotel is in a great location right by the river in downtown Portland. The staff were all very friendly which is what you would expect at the Marriott's price point. The surrounding area is exceptionally clean and feels very safe. Most of our time was spent either checking out some stores or checking out the Brewpub scene, which is quite fantastic. Once we arrived, we parked the car and stuck to walking around the city which was easy to navigate and gives you a better feel. Although nice, the hotel is a bit pricey for what it is ($US240/night with valet).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sonoma county, ca

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
I was impressed with the service. The front desk was efficient and friendly and knowledgeable in regards to the city and marriott rewards issues. The "in house" bistro was also very tasty, convenient, and quick. The servers also had great recommendations. The hotel is well located to the river side walking path and convenient for walking to several interesting areas of the city. Finally the airport shuttle was easy and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Hotel is situated at a great location in Portland.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: It's location
Location: Close to the river and to the business district. Excellent public transportation close by.d
We had a great stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the staff. They were really friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Family holiday Portland

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Modern and clean.
Cons: The bathroom was far to small.
Location: The location is nice near the water but most of the fun stuff is about 10-30 mins walking distance away.
Hotel room pretty small with the tiniest bathroom ever - tight squeeze. If you stay here you will have a lot of walking if you don't catch the local bus as most of the action is in the Pearl District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Hotel is clean, comfortable, and close to river front for a walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Location! Location!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: Charge less for parking. We had to rent a car for our 2 week stay and even though we didn't need to use it in Portland we had to pay a lot to house it
Location: The location is perfect for doing things in the McCall waterfront park. Walk or use public transit to see everything else available.
We stayed at this hotel the last full weekend in July. It was the perfect location for people who want to do things and like to walk around the area. The Oregon Beer Festival was on in the park directly across the street all weekend. Then on Sunday they had the Float Parade that ended up on the park also. Downtown shopping is within walking distance also. We were lucky that we booked here at that particular time but the location would be just as good anytime.