Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S.P. Montreal,qc

Cheap cost for a very nice room

Posted Aug 18, 2014
A very good service by the staff. A large size room with nice beds. Close to the beach and a very good cost!! Thanks for the time to OOB!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: They had a sub shop downstairs.. that seemed promising..
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE
Location: 5-10 walk to downtown.
I booked the reservation in July and showed up on 7/3 and was told they couldn't "find" the reservation. The response of the staff was "they did to me again". You would think that if you've had an issue with online bookings in the past you wouldn't continue to use that service but that didn't seem to matter to the front desk of the Moby Dick Hotel. Instead of the reserved 2 twin bed room with a kitchenette that was reserved, we were offered a single bed box of a room (mind you we had 2 other people staying with us) with a small college fridge and broken AC. Had to laugh when we were told that the tv shuts off sometimes and you just need to "get up and plug it in again". All this and they also wanted to charge more than the agreed upon price on Expedia. Mistakes happen and if the staff had done anything to try and appease the situation I wouldn't have written this review. I thought they would have offered a free night in the future or some money towards the more expensive room that we now had to get but no, nothing was offered but a "sorry". We ended up staying at the Aquarius down the street. A little more expensive but well worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel old orchard

Posted Sep 13, 2013
J'ai trouve beaucoup mieux le lendemain pour beaucoup moins cher On est au dessus du depanneur a 100' du train et il en a passe 6 durant la nuit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Moby Dick Motel

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Its location and its price.
Cons: It's old fashion style.
Location: It is near the beach!
It is located near the beach. There is a convenience store on the 1st floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was close to the beach, but very outdated.

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: The staff was pleasant
Cons: Fresh paint, new carpet, new beds, new linens, new pillows, new air conditioner.
Location: Orchard Beach, Maine
Train behind the motel blowing its horn as it passed 2:00 in the morning. One day it rained all day, so it was hot and we decided to watch TV, but the air conditioner was so loud you could not hear the TV. The toilet broke once and it was found that a Christmas tree hook was used to hold it together. I repaired it and then another time if plugged up. Beds were uncomfortable, the screen door fell off several times and the door lock would stick so badly it took two of use to open it. There was no ice and no breakfast. This room needed a complete do over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel great location

Posted Jun 24, 2013
cute little motel, nice variety store, very friendly and very close to beach and attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Cheryl & Jimfrom Brattleboro, VT, USA

Family

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: The friendly people they were awesom
Cons: The shower didn't have a regular shower head on it
Location: close to shopping & the beach across the street
My husband Jim & I were very happy & oh my gosh the people were so friendly and made our stay awesome...such friendly people all the away around and us feel like family!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Location was good and conveiniant and small kitchen was nice to have.
Cons: Mattress was almost too uncomfortable to sleep on, an update is needed. Room decorations were so bad that it was kind of funny.
Location: Walking distance to everything in Old Orchard Beach. Ocean in right across the street.
Motel was in a good location on the strip, but unfortunately overpriced for what it is.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise, very outdated!!!!!!!
Location: Seconds from beach!!
Pros- clean room, right next to beach!!! Cons- very small view of ocean, train right at back of building goes by several times at all hours of the day and night!!!! Lots of foot and vehicle traffic right outside front windows!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kellyfrom Springfield, MO, USA

Great Stay at The Moby Dick Motel

Posted Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Location, Comfortable and Clean, 2nd Balcony View of the ocean, small variety store downstairs-fantastic sandwiches!
Location: The location was perfect-right across from the beach access and restaurant bar and nice stroll to the pier.
My husband and I stayed our last night of vacation at the Moby Dick in Old Orchard Beach. This stay was one of our best on the trip! We loved Old Orchard Beach and the Moby Dick was in a great location, the beach access is right across the street with a great restaurant/bar overlooking the ocean. Walking distance to the pier and shops. The hotel was very clean, our room had a balcony and we could see the ocean. Overall, would highly recommend the Moby Dick Motel.