Ratings based on 2,055 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach, ca

very cozy apartment feeling

Posted Jun 17, 2014
stayed 2 nights and I enjoyed it. very nice people and clean cozy suite. the only issue was the elevator, it's the only one and extremely small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Madison WI

Great price in good location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
This hotel is within walking distance of most downtown sites, as well as the gardens of Washington Park. It is right on the border between downtown and a very nice residential neighborhood near the park. The free parking makes it affordable to bring in a car for other excursions outside the walkable and transit-linked areas of the city. It looks out over the downtown area and the mountains in the distance. A very good deal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from san francisco

Good Location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Hotel is in a good location, parking is free. Hotel staff were friendly. My only negative thing was the musty smell of the sofa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,ease of getting around the city

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Ease of getting around the city.
Cons: New couch.
Location: Shopping, restaurants and sightseeing.
Beds comfortable, room needed a new couch or it would have been excellent.
4 out of 5
by Tom from St. Louis

Nice view, but a bit old

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The view and location
Cons: Elevator and magnets for the bath curtain.
Location: It isn't a very far walk to the rose garden as well as Japanese garden; both of which I highly recommend!
The room was nice, but when checking in you go to a very nice looking hotel and then I was told we were across the street in what looked like something out of the 70's or 80's. Did not see an elevator which would have been handy for my family and all the belongings we brought. Light flickered outside our room all night. BUT, it was a very nice view and a pretty convenient location. Though I did put disappointing for condition over all it was a pleasing experience with the view and location; also, the room itself was fine... though magnets in the bath for the curtain would have made showering a bit more pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Canada

Solid place

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Carpets removed
Location: Nob hill, lots of craft brew pubs, MAX line, coffee shops
Solid experience and close to a really great nbhd (nob hill). The location was my favourite part of the hotel. The rooms themselves are plain - carpet, old furniture, but they keep it clean and the stove / fridge are very convenient.
3 out of 5
by Amy from columbus, ohio

Good location, shabby digs

Posted Jun 6, 2014
We stayed in the motel across the street from the inn, so I think our experience was a lot different than guests in the main building. It's like a slightly upscale Motel 6. The water pressure was awful. The room was a little dingy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Seattle

Perfect location with friendly staff

Posted May 28, 2014
This hotel is perfect for anyone looking for a decent, affordable place to stay in Portland without sacrificing location. Parking is included and you can walk or take public transit to just about anywhere you'd want to go, so it was super easy and cheap to get around. Practically everything we wanted to see - downtown, Rose Garden, Powell's Books, Saturday Market, Voodoo Doughnuts, some great shops and restaurants on 23rd - was within a mile or so walk or less. And for places a little further away (or when it was raining), taking the bus or train was very convenient. The hotel staff is also very friendly and helpful - they gave us some great recommendations for local restaurants and even gave us a free room upgrade when they saw I was pregnant and learned that we were on our last out-of-town excursion before our baby arrives. How sweet is that?!? We would totally stay here again the next time we're in Portland.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from California

OK, but not great

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Pretty good location. Mostly nice staff.
Cons: water pressure, internet reliability, general comfort of room
Location: Pretty good location near public transit and western Portland foothills (i.e., "nice part of town"). Close to Pittock Mansion, too.
Room was clean and most of the staff was very nice (but one of them, an older woman, was a tad prickly). The internet service was spotty. Water pressure in the shower was very poor. Room was not very cozy. However, no major complaints. I liked the setting the hotel was in: tree-lined street and fairly secluded, yet pretty close to downtown and public transpo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauren from Nashville, TN

Close to lots of shopping and restaurants

Posted May 26, 2014
The bed was comfortable and room was very clean. The outside of the building is deceiving! Their was no hairdryer in the room, so just prepare for that. Overall, a great place to stay- plenty of parking (free) and free wifi too.