Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great serviced accom / hotel in prime location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The beds were comfortable, the sitting room was useful when you have two small children and the staff were excellent.
Cons: Include a few more utensils in the kitchen.
Location: New York is an easy city to walk around and we were only 5 blocks from the western side of Central Park (near the zoo).
Affinia Gardens is a great hotel just 5 blocks from Central Park and 1 block from the nearest subway. The room - for 2 adults and 2 small children (3 and 4.5 years old) - was a perfect size. The kitchen is a bit small, narrow and lacking a few essentials but this was not a big problem for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They also organised a car back to JFK at US$75 all-in. This was cheaper than our yellow taxi cab into town on arrival.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, needs minor adjustments to be great

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Valet parking, doorman, location.
Cons: Needs coffee making facilies in room. Also only hotel on trip with no umbrella in room, just when really needed! Atmosphere is a little pretentious
Location: Very central, in busy area near port area and lots of interesting shops.
Stayed two nights as part of a longer holiday. Traditional hotel style, elegant. Valet parking service great, staff very friendly and helpful. Bad first impression on check in though - staff appeared somewhat harassed, and we were initially ignored. Allocated a room on a high floor as requested. Overlooked pedestrian area with bars/clubs. Great for people watching - rooms on lower floors with this outlook may have some noise on a busy night - quiet while we were there as heavy rain both evenings. Room and bathroom fairly spacious, clean and well furnished - dark wood in antique style. Bed very comfortable. Restaurant - food good but expensive. Nicely appointed bar/dining room but not much atmosphere, very quiet. Pretty terrace which would be lovely in good weather. Doorman great - really informative. Conciage desk in the lobby may offer a great service for all I know, but the chap did not appear very approachable - never saw him speaking to anyone in person but was on the phone every time we passed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel/Location - Very Loud At Night

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The staff, location and comfort
Cons: Better soundproofing of the windows!
Location: Awesome pub town. Different pubs and bars throughout the town. We loved the cobblestone walkways through the alleys.
We spent one night here and everything was great. The staff was absolutely amazing! There is a great outdoor seating area and the hotel was very warm and comforting. We loved everything about the hotel until we tried to go to sleep. The beds and pillows were comfortable, but the alley next to us was rocking on a Saturday night. The noise from an 80's band coupled with the pulsing coming from The Pearl Ultra Lounge were going strong until at least 1:30 am. Normally we would have enjoyed the nightlife in Portland but we were travelling with our young child. Our son managed to sleep through everything. Aside from that, we loved everything about the hotel and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Dallas

Beautiful hotel, lovely garden, excellent staff.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was fabulous including the restaurant, concierge, front desk and the drivers for car service.
Our only input is don't take a room on the side facing the city, there is a nightclub across the street that is extremely loud and reverberates through the windows. Thankfully the front desk brought us ear plugs when we called and we were able to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill

Nice hotel, close to restaurants and nightlife

Posted Apr 21, 2014
I stayed at the PHH with a group of 8 celebrating a bachelorette party this past weekend. The rooms were clean, spacious, and quiet (even though we stayed on the nightlife side). The convenience of the parking garage and valet was a plus. Staff was polite and helpful. The only downfall was one of the rooms didn't have sufficient curtains to shade the sun in the morning- it was quite bright and I had trouble sleeping in. Other than that minute detail, it was my second stay and certainly not my last.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
the staff could not be bothered to help me with my concerns when asked for help
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jess from New York

Nice hotel, excellent location.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location and see above.
Cons: As I say above...the conviviality of some of the staff..otherwise it was a wonderful stay.
Location: I was in Portland for Business, but did wander around the Old Port and down by the water...very pleasant experience.
Had pretty much the perfect stay...everything about the hotel and most of the staff was faultless. The Valet parking staff was excellent, the housekeeping staff also excellent. I went to the bar late one weekend afternoon and while there is nothing to really complain about regarding the bar tender...he didn't seem very friendly to the patrons at the bar, but he very interested in conversing with the other bartender/waitress and what was going on in her life. She seemed slightly more interested in my needs. Similar experience with the woman, manager type staff who was at the coffee table on my floor when I asked in delight..oh is this complimentary coffee... I was thrilled-she was more interested in her clipboard. Other than those two minor issues, the room was great, clean...quiet and the perfect size. Was also thrilled at how spacious the bathroom is and that it also had a bath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Comforts of a large hotel. The feeling of a comfortable feeling of a small hotel.
Location: Excellent restaurants. Great shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013