Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive. Nothing special.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
They didn't clean my room. The wifi cost money after the first day. Nearly $40 per night just to park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Expensive small box

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent
Cons: Larger room or less expensive.
Room had no view, except into more concrete and hotel windows. Room very small, difficulty for two people to move around. Bed very comfortable, but husband couldn't sleep because someone was opening and closing doors all night. I usually stay at Marriott, but will pass from now on. Location was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Guest Service Ambassador, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I do apologize for the latest experience you had with us. I wanted to address the points that you brought up. The reason for the higher than normal price is because summer is Portland's busiest time of year and we need to adjust the price of our rooms according to demand and the demand to stay in downtown Portland is higher than ever before. Every hotel in Portland has experienced sold out nights every night all summer this year. We do slow down a bit in fall and I always recommend that people come back when Portland slows down. There will be plenty of activities in Portland year round to keep you busy. Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope that you reconsider and do stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Smack in the middle of Downtown

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Stayed 3 nights to watch the Major League Soccer All-Star Game vs. legendary German team Bayern Munich. Portand is a wonderful, walkable city full of incredibly friendly people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Downtown

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Good hotel but a little pricy for the plain but comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A waste of money

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We picked this hotel because we wanted a suite. When we checked in we were informed that there were no suites available but they would give us a room with two double beds for the same price. We had to talk to the manager about getting a reduced price in out rate and even after the change in rate the room was more expensive then other hotels I could have booked of the same quality. In addition the staff was rude when I called to ask about a late checkout. I won't be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale, FL

Nice hotel, right in downtown Portland

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very nice hotel, staff was helpful and courteous. Room was clean and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

3 Blocks from Powell's Books

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Nice, comfy king-sized bed, single-cup coffee maker.
Cons: No dedicated dresser for clothes; just a drawer here and a drawer there.
Location: Powell's Bookstore; Voodoo Donuts; Saturday Market at the Waterfront Park.
My wife and I spent the weekend at the Portland Marriott with our main goals for the trip being multiple trips to Powell's Bookstore and strolling down the Waterfront Park by the Williamette River. Both were within easy walking distance. The hotel was excellent, comfortable, and the staff was very considerate and friendly. The front desk associate politely asked us our agenda, and after we told her our relaxing plans, she made sure to indicate the other locations of Powell's bookstore locations around Portland. Also, every time we entered or left the hotel, the bellhops opened the door for us; and the waitstaff at the hotel were unobtrusive but mindful. A very pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Near shopping, public transportation, parks, cafes

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: I liked everything.
Cons: Have free wifi in guest rooms.
Location: Outdoor free concert in Director Park.
Wonderful bul lacking free wifi. Expected it from a first class hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: FREE WIFI! Also the lobby wifi was for guests only. :/
Location: Finnegan's toy was a fun place to visit. O'bryant square(spell?) and the food carts are close by too!
Not the best hotel I've ever stayed, but the location was great. I found the hallway freezing, but it was all right as I was there just a few minutes. After I checked out I need to use the washroom, but they have no public washroom in the lobby, and the one on the second floor needed a room key. The staff made me a new room key so that I can access the washroom, so in the end it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor service, for wrongly booked room.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Reserved a 2 bed room, for 4 people and only got a king bed room. Very disappointing and no one was nice enough to listen or accommodate us.