Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown pdx

Posted Jul 27, 2015
UGH!!!! They did not have my reservation!! It took me over an hour to get it squared away!! VERY disappointing! ;[
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy comfortable downtown hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
A big hotel that feels like a cozy bed and breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with everything you need. Best thing about the hotel is location in middle of downtown with shopping, dining and many options for nightlife...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Portland OR - July 04, 2015

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Room faced center core of building with direct view of unsightly mechanical air handling equipment and roof venting of lower portions of building. I felt that reservation had been made well in advance (3 months) to not have had to be given such a room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Riley, Hotel Management
Dear Ricky, I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Portland Marriott City Center. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your, or our expectations, in particular with regards to the room you were placed in. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Portland. Once again thank you for your valued feedback. Thank You, Riley Harrington Guest Service Ambassdor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, OR

Great Holiday Night

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: staff were professional, polite and efficient
Booked the 4th of July at the last minute to celebrate downtown and not drive afterwards. Very easy check in and check out... simple process. Well appointed room and made a nice evening
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015
We booked a king bed room on expedia.com but when we arrived at the hotel they gave us 2 twin beds instead. They stated that since we used a third party, we were not guaranteed what we paid for. The staff was rude about it and would not give us the opportunity to get a king bed room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Good hotel, good location. Came here for a concert so we didn' plan on being in the hotel much. Was centrally located so everything we wanted to go see was no more than 10 minutes walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the middle of downtown

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Convenient to downtown and the price was better than most of the other hotels we were looking at.
Cons: Coffee maker and free WIFI in the rooms, seems to be missing considering it used to be a standard for most hotels. Guess, we're old folks!
Location: see comments above
We had a very nice room on the 15th floor facing Mt. Tabor, nice view! All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Interesting we had to use the room key for most every where we wanted to access, haven't had that experience before...guess we don't get out enough. Also, WIFI isn't free in the room, you have to go to the business center on the 3rd floor, or the lounge on the 2nd floor. If you bring a car with you, parking is a separate daily charge. I feel for the valet, seeing them sprint blocks away to retrieve our car when we have need of it. They deserve a tip, just for their efforts...only good thing for them is the run is down hill. Interesting I had no idea there were 2 other Marriotts within blocks of each other. This one is smaller and the price was right for us. A good thing for incidentals that you might have forgotten, the Rite- Aid is up the street and to your left about 1/2 blocks walk, very convenient for sudden emergencies, the hotel doesn't carry Imodium!! Peet's Coffee is just next door for your first morning jolt, didn't see a coffee pot in the room, had a mini frig in the room though. Wine bar is across the street next door to a chocolate shop. We only did breakfast local, of course there is the hotel restaurant on the 2nd floor, but if you're willing to walk to build up your appetite you have some nice options with Cheryl's on 12th, Zeus Cafe also on 12th next door to the Crystal Hotel, nice Art Deco ambience. bye, enjoy your trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

fantastic hotel!

Posted May 23, 2015
fantastic hotel, fantastic location. convenient to walk around downtown Portland (restaurants, coffee, pubs, parks). i travel a lot in the US for work and found this hotel to be clean, rooms very comfortable (one if the best beds i've experienced) & with great amenities. the staff is friendly and helpful. totally recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Great Experience, & was able to check-in 3 hours early. Perfect location for walking downtown Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2015
Perfect Location ! Down town on the parade route, away from the night hoopla, closest to shopping and trolley.