Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of Portland

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Everything was great, including the coffee service in the morning. The city decided to start street construction at 3:30am, including jack hammers, but hopefully that's not customary for Portland. Otherwise, a terrific experience I would recommend to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wytheville VA

Excellent location to walk old Port city !

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Spent 2 nights in Portland visiting family, prior to traveling north US 1 sea coast to Bar Harbor for several days . Wonderful weather was an added bonus for the trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wrong hotel for family with teenagers.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: location, staff, parking, cleanliness
Cons: noisy ventilation system, no room darkening, outside pool arrangement?
Overall this hotel seems like it would be very good for a business traveler. We were on vacation with our Daughter and three teenage Grandkids. My first big problem came when I discovered this hotel did not have a pool. In my rush to find a place downtown, I did not check that point. Other negatives were a loud ventilation system and windows with no mechanism to room darken. Sunrise is early here and we knew when it occured. On the positive side the staff was excellent, it was located in a perfect spot for the tourist and the parking arrangements were very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Right in the old port

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: I loved the fact that we could walk everywhere we wanted to. It has lovely d├ęcor. A beautiful old building. I love the historic character.
Location: it is right in the middle of the Old Port. Nearby is the harbor, shopping, restaurants, Portland Art Museum, nightlife...anything you are looking for
it was a great stay for our one night in Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebago, me

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Location: The location is excellent, sevearl excellent dinning choices, bars, and of course the beauty of the old cobblestone streets in the old port.
We stayed on June 22 2014, my husband and I came to the hotel directly from our wedding. When we checked in (still in gown and tux) the receptionist upgraded our room for free. The room was amazing! Large balcony, living room, enormous bathroom, and super comfy bed. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leon from Caledon Ont Can.

Close to everything

Posted Jun 14, 2014
I think the staffs try to over sell everything. I was disappointed that there was no coffee machine or a refrigerator in the room .This was a deluxe room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The Regency is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location. The room was nicely sized and had a very nice bathroom/shower. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highlights of Portland

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable about stuff to do
Cons: The only suggestion I could make is to have coffee ready for people all day and night.
Location: The location was great and close to everything.
The hotel was very close to everything. the staff was very accommodating to our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Sydney, Australia

Spacious room in a great location

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location. Presentation. Quality decor. Staff.
Cons: Valet parking cost extra but staff got our car quickly when we needed it.
Location: Seafood restaurants, Portland Lighthouse (15 min drive), Longfellow House and Civil War Museum, Museum of Art
This historic, small hotel is located within walking distance of the cobbled streets and waterfront in Portland. Staff were helpful and friendly. Decor was elegant. Comfortable bed. We loved our stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Colorado

First class hotel

Posted May 22, 2014
The hotel was excellent in every respect. The rooms were beautifully appointed. It is s located in a very interesting part of town, with great restaurants and shops. Staff was professional. The hotel had excellent facilities, including spas and a workout room.