Ratings based on 706 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

An historical gem

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: It has historic charm. It is within a very walkable neighbourhood. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are outstanding.
Cons: A self-park option in the neighbourhood would be a welcome addition, as would a few more items added to the lounge menu.
Location: Explore old Portland within walking distance from here.
Outstanding service and exceptional charm await you in this hotel in one of the historic areas of the city. The staff are welcoming and professional. The room was an oasis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the old port area. Lots of fine dining and shops
I've stayed in Portland many times and always wanted to try the Regency. I wasn't disappointed, but it wasn't what I had hoped for. I wanted something better than where I had been before - Hilton Garden & Residence Inn. All are equally good and I would recommend the Regency, it's just not over the top
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Great location in the heart of the Old Port. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maine

best hotel in portland

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: bigger armchair? still more bathtubs?
Location: it's in the middle of oldport portland maine. walk out the door, turn right and go to north point. have a cocktail and cheese plate. go wander.
first of all, try finding as hotel room in portland maine. they are rare. i booked a room at the regency specifically for a tub because i was exhausted from a long period of overtime work with no breaks and sometimes you just need to soak and get drunk in portland. so i did. and it was awesome and they provided terrycloth bathrobes, too, just like the olden days when hotels cared. the staff was helpful with all my requests, there was turndown service with chocolates (waaaat?!!?!? this ain't no knight's inn!) the valet parking was prompt and helpful with various inquiries for directions and he cleaned all the snow off my car. next time i stay there there i plan to take advantage of the spa aspect and get a massage or six. y'know, for research purposes. oh, and she pretty, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston Ma

Location, Location Location!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Loved this hotel. Overnight shopping trip with girlfiend. Location is excellent. Parked the care and did not have to worry about it until the following day. Check out was at 12 noon but was allowed to leave bags with desk clerks and retrived the car later in the afternoon. Staff is very nice . We made reservations for dinner and were given a ride directly to the hotel, said we could call for a ride back. We ended up walking back but it was nice to know. Room was super clean .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleased.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Clean, comfortable and nice. Excellent shower. Friendly staff. Super location for visiting Portland- easy walk to everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Excellent Old Town Spot

Posted Dec 6, 2014
We were able to walk wherever we wanted to go in and around the Old Town area and wharf. Complimentary ride to the airport was arranged by the accommodating staff. Great restaurants all around the hotel if you prefer to get out and explore. Unique shops within a couple of blocks. The Armory Lounge within the hotel was a very nice retreat after a day of shopping and touring. The chocolate cake martini was outstanding! One of the best showers of any hotel we have stayed in - hot water and great pressure - totally unexpected in such an historical building. We will stay here again the next time we visit Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Nice hotel close to my meeting.

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Excellent experience. Car valets top notch. My room door would not lock all the way. That was my only concern
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location to old port area

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: the location, old boutique hotel
Cons: fix up the lobby. how about some cookies or something nice upon arrival.. how about free beer and wine like the kimpton hotels?
Location: tons to see and do nearby
I'm sure its very different in the summer when all the boat people need a hot shower and nice bed. But for a November weekend, this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. the lobby is dark and dated. The lounge area is also pretty unappealing. The rooms are fine, but there were three of us in two twin beds so its was pretty cramped. The staff was apathetic at best. how about some milk-1% or 2 % for the coffee in the morning rather than half and half? this hotel is stuck in the 1980's.they do the bare minimum needed to get three stars. the place feels hollow. maybe a little music-anything to liven it up. how about free breakfast-the pastries wrapped in plastic were nasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Right in the center of Old Port and all the action

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing, maybe add an indoor pool.
Location: Wonderful restaurants and shoppes, waterfront and history, loved it!
Wonderful restaurants and shoppes, waterfront and history, loved it!