Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel, no complaints, but...eh

Posted Aug 6, 2014
There is absolutely nothing to complain about here. Everything was great. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, the location was prime, but at this price...I just needed that extra that didn't seem to exist. That being said, if you can afford it, I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Charming hotel in Old Port

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Good restaurant/bar.
Location: Portland Head Light
The hotel is in a perfect location in Old Port. Easy to walk to restaurants and shops and close to harbor running trail. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacioius and comfortable, with a great shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location, ambience
Cons: See above
We visit Portland at least once or twice every year and have never stayed at the Regency. Our recent 3-night stay was very enjoyable. The location is about one block up the hill from the Old Port area, and it was nice to come back after a long, noisy day and unwind. The service was great and the room was spotless. My one complaint is that all rooms at this price point should have a mini-fridge. We were told that our room would not have one, so we requested this in advance. It was not there when we arrived, however, one was delivered when we asked again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westford, MA

Posted Jul 30, 2014
A very nice place to stay and be in the heart of Portland. We found the location and hotel itself a very pleasant atmosphere. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of Portland

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Everything was great, including the coffee service in the morning. The city decided to start street construction at 3:30am, including jack hammers, but hopefully that's not customary for Portland. Otherwise, a terrific experience I would recommend to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wytheville VA

Excellent location to walk old Port city !

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Spent 2 nights in Portland visiting family, prior to traveling north US 1 sea coast to Bar Harbor for several days . Wonderful weather was an added bonus for the trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wrong hotel for family with teenagers.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: location, staff, parking, cleanliness
Cons: noisy ventilation system, no room darkening, outside pool arrangement?
Overall this hotel seems like it would be very good for a business traveler. We were on vacation with our Daughter and three teenage Grandkids. My first big problem came when I discovered this hotel did not have a pool. In my rush to find a place downtown, I did not check that point. Other negatives were a loud ventilation system and windows with no mechanism to room darken. Sunrise is early here and we knew when it occured. On the positive side the staff was excellent, it was located in a perfect spot for the tourist and the parking arrangements were very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Right in the old port

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: I loved the fact that we could walk everywhere we wanted to. It has lovely décor. A beautiful old building. I love the historic character.
Location: it is right in the middle of the Old Port. Nearby is the harbor, shopping, restaurants, Portland Art Museum, nightlife...anything you are looking for
it was a great stay for our one night in Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sebago, me

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Location: The location is excellent, sevearl excellent dinning choices, bars, and of course the beauty of the old cobblestone streets in the old port.
We stayed on June 22 2014, my husband and I came to the hotel directly from our wedding. When we checked in (still in gown and tux) the receptionist upgraded our room for free. The room was amazing! Large balcony, living room, enormous bathroom, and super comfy bed. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leon from Caledon Ont Can.

Close to everything

Posted Jun 14, 2014
I think the staffs try to over sell everything. I was disappointed that there was no coffee machine or a refrigerator in the room .This was a deluxe room