Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Quincy, MA

Location Location Location

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: We like having everything within walking distance and the hotel staff were great.
Cons: I can't think of any improvement other than maybe to have a small area where snacks could be bought but it really wasn't a big deal.
Location: The location was perfect. It allowed for us to walk to nearby pubs and restaurants and the various shops. Nice not to have to get in your car.
This hotel was all and more than we expected. When we arrived we were greeted pleasantly and felt welcomed right away. The room was perfectly located and meticulous. Walking distance to the harbor with the many restaurants, pubs and shops made it the ideal location for us. We like to be able to leave our car parked and walk to the various venues. This was perfect. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, Tn.

New England vacation

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The location was great. The rooms were clean, comfortable and have all the amenities you need. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Location: We took a few tours and went out on a lobster boat. We found several wonderful restaurants.
We had never been to Maine so it was a new experience. We really loved Portland and the Regency was the perfect location. It is 2 blocks from the Long Wharf and many other interesting activities. We plan to go back next year and we will definitely stay at the Regency again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Charming hotel central to everything in Portland

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Attractive setting and handy location. Well appointed quiet and comfortable
Location: Central to shops, restaurants and the old port, all less than 5 minutes. i.ePerfectly located with less than 15 minutes walk to the Art Museum as well
Attractive entrance in midst of Old Portland, handy to boutique shopping, great restaurants and the port yet quiet. Staff pleasant and helpful, bar facilities brilliant make this a great place to stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location ,over priced

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Location, bar
Location: Good location
Average acommodations,we found it overpriced, it lacked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flat tire? No problem!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: See above. My daughter liked her massage.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
We had a nice, uneventful stay at the Portland Regency, although we did not eat any meals there. The climax, however, was when the valet parking head called to tell us that our car had a flat tire. He and his assistant changed the tire for the spare, identified the nail that had caused the flat and told us that we could probably drive on our spare (which was actually a regular tire) as it was in good shape. They stemmed the tide of anxiety we felt about dealing with this crisis and continuing our drive up north. Many thanks!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location, the lounge, the rooms, the friendly check-in and help with getting around town.
Cons: Only complaint is the room we stayed in needs drapes to keep the early sun out of the nice big windows. Blinds not enough. Room faced Silver St.
Location: Perfect location; walking to all shops, restaurants, waterfront, outside dining and drinking.
The Regency is beautiful, comfortable, friendly and in a perfect location. Stayed only one night, but I look forward to returning and wouldn't stay anyplace else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Beautiful and classic

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: The seaport is two blocks down and all the restaurants and shops you could want are in walking distance.
I felt like I was in another time in this hotel. The beautiful antique decor was breathtaking. The location is fantastic. Right in walking distance of everything. Even the hotel valet. $12.00 for overnight parking...What a bargain.The staff were all amazing and friendly and accomodating. I will absolutely come here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom RI

Nice but noisey

Posted Apr 15, 2015
This hotel was superb from the time we were greeted by valet to the staff pulling down your sheets and drawing your shades at night! They left a nice chocolate by your bedside with the next days predicted forcast. The room was cleaner then some nicer hotels I've stayed in. The bathroom was gorgeous. Everything was spot on!!! Until 8:30 am arrived. And it was noisier then some hotels I've stayed at in Times Square. You can hear everything. Car alarms going off. Maintenance chatting in the halls. Doors are heavy so they slam shut. It was not the most peaceful morning. But nonetheless I enjoyed my stay and would stay again despite the noise because it was so perfectly located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
It was great awesome time hotel is old school and very close to everything great location and staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice of Portland hotels

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Staff was extraordinary, extremely helpful and friendly. Location is wonderful, right in the old Port, walking distance to all the highlights. Valet parking was great. Some very cool old architecture, nice just to walk around and enjoy the building.