Ratings based on 746 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Stayed here for two nights while at a meeting in downtown Portland - the hotel was great and for the price had everything we needed and was clean and well run with friendly staff. Only negative was the closeness to downtown. Convenient place for breakfast connected to hotel. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay..

Posted Sep 25, 2014
The beds were extremely comfortable; staff was very cooperative. The outside balcony was a nice bonus. The room needed a dusting and a vacuuming but wasn't "dirty". A tip for anyone traveling who is disabled - book thru the hotel. We wanted a walk in shower but didn't find out until we got there that none were available. If we had booked thru the hotel and got that info, I might have stayed somewhere else. Certainly didn't ruin the trip though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

No Surprises, just a decent room for a fair price.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Well away from the downtown, this hotel as many other is a good distance from the downtown core but the price reflects that. I had an issue with the internet and the help line that the front desk told me to call just answered with a voice mail that said the "mailbox was full" I did eventually get it to work. Other then that a nice quiet room, we were in the back of the hotel. I don't know if the rooms facing the busy street would be so quiet. You will need a car it you are staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Cons: The noise level; too many people talking in the hallway around 1 or 2 am. Needs to be upgraded.
Location: Its about a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Portland.
Hotel was clean. Needs to be upgraded, but its decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shelburne NS

overnight stop

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: spacious bedrooms
Cons: nothing
Location: convenient restaurant attached with excellent breakfast and very pleasant staff.
surprisingly good. very pleased with accommodation and staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NB Canada

Hotel did everything we required, but

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location, pool/hottub
Cons: put fridge in room, room could also use an update as its getting a bit dates
Location: downtown/waterfront was very nice
it would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room, carpet was old and outdated, Hopefully the new ownership addresses these 2 minor issues
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: balcony, near a grocery store
Cons: beds
nice to have a balcony however metal on bed frames is not padded and sticks out causing injury. No continental breakfast. we were not notified ahead of time that the name had changed from howard johnsons to ramada
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hershey, pa

Friendly service; pretty clean

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Maids did a great job. Our balcony had a colony of moss from the drippings of the a/c that needed to be addressed. The restaurant, Seasons Grille, was dark and dingy. Service was slow, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener Ontariop

nice hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: nothing
Location: we only stay one night so didnt have time to explore
it was a little hard to find from the boat coming in from Nova Scotia but once we found it it was very nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Complaints.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient.
Cons: You can figure that out from the complaints above.
Location: Concerts at University of Southern Maine, The Portland Art Museum, Longfellow House, August Art Show
When we arrived we asked for a refrigerator but were told that they would try to find one. We had medication that needed to be refrigerated. Eventually one arrived. We left for the afternoon and when we arrived back a second refrigerator was in the room. We called down to have it removed but it never was. We were at the hotel for three days. The worst problem was the strong mildew smell coming from the bathroom. We spoke to the housekeeper on our floor and she said she would have it washed down with chlorox if we didn't mind the smell. There was no chlorine smell so obviously nothing was done to alleviate the problem. We had made our reservation with a Howard Johnson hotel. We should have been notified that the property had been sold to Ramada as this caused us a problem in trying to find the hotel.