Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Chosen for Pet Friendliness, Lacking in other ways

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: pet friendly, full kitchen, comfortable room
Cons: be honest and tell pet owners they will be looking at a warehouse and pay more attention to security!
Location: If you like to shop or drink, awesome. Not good for families. GORGEOUS shop called Motif down on the waterfront, thats about it.
I specifically chose this hotel for its pet policy. They were EXTREMELY welcoming to my small dog,VERY nice people working the desk. Room was spacious & clean but having a pet, we were stuck on the second floor, so my OCEAN VIEW was a view of the warehouse across the street- EXTREMELY disappointing. Hotel is well appointed, the pool was large but there were towels strewn everywhere by 7pm. Nice shuttle service but the driver was older, didnt talk & had no recommendations to us weary travelers where we might find dinner at a place that allowed dogs. The young guy at the desk was much more helpful, providing a map and circling choices for us. We were promised free hot breakfast in the mornings but due to a huge flood the night before, there were only super carb rich, cold items offered in lobby. Kids were happy w/the sugary treats but as a person who eats more sensibly, I was not. Due to the flood, the first floor was under renovations and they left the door to the street open all day which seemed pretty negligent since Portland is crawling w/homeless & deranged looking people all over the place w/cardboard signs begging for help. Hotel is at the very end of the nice strip by the waterfront, its not in the bustling chic part, its set off near a huge creepy parking garage-sketchy at night. Their pet fee was double that of other places and room rate of $400 was VASTLY overpriced for a warehouse view and NOTHING at all special. Its a $200 place at best:(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: pool
Cons: put the sink in the bathroom
Location: right near the ocean and walking distance to congress street
great staff. loved the salt water pool. bartender was very nice. the only thing i didn't like was the fact that the sink wasn't in the bathroom. always find that to be a weird design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very clean and a friendly staff. Room was huge and accommodating for a bunch of women getting ready for a wedding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lots to like

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The Residence Inn in Portland is delightful. The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, the ambiance excellent. In addition it's right in the heart of town - lots of great stores and eating places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from KC

Shot in the dark...

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Friendliness, helpfullness. The shuttle service was fantastic and extremely helpful.
Cons: Increase pool hours. I assume there are reasons but closing at 10pm for those of us from different time zones seems a bit constraining.
Location: PERFECT! Walking distance to Old Portland, shops, places to eat, etc.
We needed vacation and we have never been to Maine. We chose Portland and picked this hotel. Our room was assigned by Bryan. We got to room to discover the closet doors were stuck open. Bryan fixed us up immediately with no delay. All staff (desk, the sweet lady at breakfast, room attendants, etc.) were all very friendly and did all they could to make this a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MA

Weekend Visit

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Really like the layout of the King room with kitchen. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, and most went out of their way for the guests.
Cons: Cannot think of any improvements
Location: . It is close to the Old Port with its quaint architecture and many shops and restaurants. Also close to a foot and bike trail along the waterfront.
We really enjoyed this hotel Breakfast buffet had many choices, and there were assorted evening food offerings, along with happy hour events. Nice sitting areas in the lobby with fireplaces. A comfortable and very accommodating hotel overall, would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol

Want to live there...

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: Had a great time walking around to the local shops. Must remember to do something besides eat on our vacations but the old port didn't disappoint.
Hotel was more than what we expected. I knew the room had a kitchette type set up, but this was beyond that. Very well set up room with more than what we would need for an extended stay. Staff was very friendly and the dinner buffet was an unexpected pleasure. We stayed at another hotel then next night in another city during our vacation and were disappointed after the great experience that we had at this hotel. It was nice to also have pool hours open early and a little later so that we had time to take advantage of the facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Staff

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights. The hotel staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. The location is a little out of the way, but the hospitality is worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from Boston

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I went to the Residence Inn for my birthday weekend. We frequently visit Portland, but usually stay outside the Old Port for more economical accommodations. Given it was my birthday (and that we found a great rate on hotels.com) we decided to splurge this time. We were very happy with the accomodations. The room was clean, comfortable bed, and had a full kitchenette which was very useful. The hotel is just a short walk to all our favorite places to eat, drink, and shop. We will definitely go back!