Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: size/location
Cons: see above
The bathrooms are weak. Slow-release toilet seat, ceiling fan and towel bars in vanity area would be a nice addition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Good value!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: location - room layout - free wifi - great breakfast!
We were able to check in before noon, and they allowed us to park our car in the garage for 2 days. My husband even had the complimentary breakfast buffet when he checked in!. This is not a continental breakfast! It included fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereals, waffle maker, eggs, home fries, sausage, boiled eggs, muffins, etc. Definitely a good value for travelers! I loved our corner room layout, and if we had more time, I'm sure the kitchen would be in use, but then again, with so many great places to go out in Old Port, it would be hard to eat for dinner rather than go out in town!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Location & Good Facilities

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, hotel staff
Cons: Construction was in process, but nobody was actually doing anything. It seemed like they could have been done with it before we arrived.
Location: Commercial Street, ferries to the islands, great seafood and other restaurants in the area. A short drive to the Portland Head lighthouse.
We stayed here over Labor Day weekend, and were happy with it. The hotel is right off Commercial, so it is close to all the activities. We also liked having easy access to the ferry terminal since we wanted to visit Peaks Island. As for the hotel itself, I've always liked Residence Inn's room size and full kitchen. This one is similar to others we have visited. Staff were friendly and quick to help when called on. Room cleanliness was fantastic; no problems at all. It seemed like the hotel was nearly full, but we didn't have any issues with quiet at night. Excellent, since I'm a light sleeper! Exercise room and pool were adequate, although if you like to run there are a couple nice routes in town that will be more interesting than the treadmills. I'm knocking a star off my rating due to the construction happening in the pool area, even though I understand that these types of things must be done. Also, the parking situation is a little awkward, with the ramp being nearly full on some nights. I do understand that parking in this area of town is difficult in general, though. Overall a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Chosen for Pet Friendliness, Lacking in other ways

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: pet friendly, full kitchen, comfortable room
Cons: be honest and tell pet owners they will be looking at a warehouse and pay more attention to security!
Location: If you like to shop or drink, awesome. Not good for families. GORGEOUS shop called Motif down on the waterfront, thats about it.
I specifically chose this hotel for its pet policy. They were EXTREMELY welcoming to my small dog,VERY nice people working the desk. Room was spacious & clean but having a pet, we were stuck on the second floor, so my OCEAN VIEW was a view of the warehouse across the street- EXTREMELY disappointing. Hotel is well appointed, the pool was large but there were towels strewn everywhere by 7pm. Nice shuttle service but the driver was older, didnt talk & had no recommendations to us weary travelers where we might find dinner at a place that allowed dogs. The young guy at the desk was much more helpful, providing a map and circling choices for us. We were promised free hot breakfast in the mornings but due to a huge flood the night before, there were only super carb rich, cold items offered in lobby. Kids were happy w/the sugary treats but as a person who eats more sensibly, I was not. Due to the flood, the first floor was under renovations and they left the door to the street open all day which seemed pretty negligent since Portland is crawling w/homeless & deranged looking people all over the place w/cardboard signs begging for help. Hotel is at the very end of the nice strip by the waterfront, its not in the bustling chic part, its set off near a huge creepy parking garage-sketchy at night. Their pet fee was double that of other places and room rate of $400 was VASTLY overpriced for a warehouse view and NOTHING at all special. Its a $200 place at best:(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: pool
Cons: put the sink in the bathroom
Location: right near the ocean and walking distance to congress street
great staff. loved the salt water pool. bartender was very nice. the only thing i didn't like was the fact that the sink wasn't in the bathroom. always find that to be a weird design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very clean and a friendly staff. Room was huge and accommodating for a bunch of women getting ready for a wedding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lots to like

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The Residence Inn in Portland is delightful. The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean, the ambiance excellent. In addition it's right in the heart of town - lots of great stores and eating places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from KC

Shot in the dark...

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Friendliness, helpfullness. The shuttle service was fantastic and extremely helpful.
Cons: Increase pool hours. I assume there are reasons but closing at 10pm for those of us from different time zones seems a bit constraining.
Location: PERFECT! Walking distance to Old Portland, shops, places to eat, etc.
We needed vacation and we have never been to Maine. We chose Portland and picked this hotel. Our room was assigned by Bryan. We got to room to discover the closet doors were stuck open. Bryan fixed us up immediately with no delay. All staff (desk, the sweet lady at breakfast, room attendants, etc.) were all very friendly and did all they could to make this a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MA

Weekend Visit

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Really like the layout of the King room with kitchen. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, and most went out of their way for the guests.
Cons: Cannot think of any improvements
Location: . It is close to the Old Port with its quaint architecture and many shops and restaurants. Also close to a foot and bike trail along the waterfront.
We really enjoyed this hotel Breakfast buffet had many choices, and there were assorted evening food offerings, along with happy hour events. Nice sitting areas in the lobby with fireplaces. A comfortable and very accommodating hotel overall, would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Residence Inn is a very good hotel close to downtown and beach. The parking price is reasonable. If you don't have a car you can walk around the city because everything is close by. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was included and it was good.