Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maynard, MA

Very clean and easy checkin

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and very quiet
Location: Shipyard Brewery is right next door and the Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Museum is also closeby
The hotel was very easy to find and the check in was seamless. The room had a nice kitchen but we were only staying for one night so we never got to use it. The bathroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable with ample pillows. When we booked the hotel, we knew it wasn't as close to some of the downtown restaurants and shops, but we still liked it. It was very quiet and we never heard any of the other guests there. I would recommend for a longer stay since it has the kitchen. If you want to be in the middle of downtown, you might want to find a hotel closer to the waterfront attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AKL

Pricey hotel but typical high Marriott Standards

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Room and the facilities
Cons: Pricing does not reflect the location and that some rooms are not even looking at anything but the next building
Location: Good cafes etc as you are right in downtown but Portland is very small anyway
Pricey I say because the waterfront is not exactly a waterfront, very convenient if you are catching a ferry as it is right next to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Comfortable not deluxe

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Spacious room and great location. Pleasant staff
Cons: Toiletries, towels, pool area.
Location: Portland is full of great restaurants and tourist attractions.
The hotel is clean, pleasant and functional. Pool area is unattractive. Our room was spacious and comfortable but not luxurious. Towels and soaps were so-so. Water view was over warehouses. Despite these criticisms, the experience overall was very good. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We didn't stay long enough to give a fair rating-but overall everything was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel, good location, very friendly staff

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: better service
Location: a few blocks from the old port and shopping area
the hotel is nice. nothing amazing or special but pleasing. room was pretty clean when we got it. even though we ordered the room for 2 adults and 2 kids, the beds for the kids were not made up and we had no only to set it all up by ourselves but also when we called house keeping for an extra blanket, TWICE, it arrived way after they were already sleeping (about hour and a half after the first call....)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: size/location
Cons: see above
The bathrooms are weak. Slow-release toilet seat, ceiling fan and towel bars in vanity area would be a nice addition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Good value!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: location - room layout - free wifi - great breakfast!
We were able to check in before noon, and they allowed us to park our car in the garage for 2 days. My husband even had the complimentary breakfast buffet when he checked in!. This is not a continental breakfast! It included fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereals, waffle maker, eggs, home fries, sausage, boiled eggs, muffins, etc. Definitely a good value for travelers! I loved our corner room layout, and if we had more time, I'm sure the kitchen would be in use, but then again, with so many great places to go out in Old Port, it would be hard to eat for dinner rather than go out in town!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Location & Good Facilities

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, hotel staff
Cons: Construction was in process, but nobody was actually doing anything. It seemed like they could have been done with it before we arrived.
Location: Commercial Street, ferries to the islands, great seafood and other restaurants in the area. A short drive to the Portland Head lighthouse.
We stayed here over Labor Day weekend, and were happy with it. The hotel is right off Commercial, so it is close to all the activities. We also liked having easy access to the ferry terminal since we wanted to visit Peaks Island. As for the hotel itself, I've always liked Residence Inn's room size and full kitchen. This one is similar to others we have visited. Staff were friendly and quick to help when called on. Room cleanliness was fantastic; no problems at all. It seemed like the hotel was nearly full, but we didn't have any issues with quiet at night. Excellent, since I'm a light sleeper! Exercise room and pool were adequate, although if you like to run there are a couple nice routes in town that will be more interesting than the treadmills. I'm knocking a star off my rating due to the construction happening in the pool area, even though I understand that these types of things must be done. Also, the parking situation is a little awkward, with the ramp being nearly full on some nights. I do understand that parking in this area of town is difficult in general, though. Overall a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Chosen for Pet Friendliness, Lacking in other ways

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: pet friendly, full kitchen, comfortable room
Cons: be honest and tell pet owners they will be looking at a warehouse and pay more attention to security!
Location: If you like to shop or drink, awesome. Not good for families. GORGEOUS shop called Motif down on the waterfront, thats about it.
I specifically chose this hotel for its pet policy. They were EXTREMELY welcoming to my small dog,VERY nice people working the desk. Room was spacious & clean but having a pet, we were stuck on the second floor, so my OCEAN VIEW was a view of the warehouse across the street- EXTREMELY disappointing. Hotel is well appointed, the pool was large but there were towels strewn everywhere by 7pm. Nice shuttle service but the driver was older, didnt talk & had no recommendations to us weary travelers where we might find dinner at a place that allowed dogs. The young guy at the desk was much more helpful, providing a map and circling choices for us. We were promised free hot breakfast in the mornings but due to a huge flood the night before, there were only super carb rich, cold items offered in lobby. Kids were happy w/the sugary treats but as a person who eats more sensibly, I was not. Due to the flood, the first floor was under renovations and they left the door to the street open all day which seemed pretty negligent since Portland is crawling w/homeless & deranged looking people all over the place w/cardboard signs begging for help. Hotel is at the very end of the nice strip by the waterfront, its not in the bustling chic part, its set off near a huge creepy parking garage-sketchy at night. Their pet fee was double that of other places and room rate of $400 was VASTLY overpriced for a warehouse view and NOTHING at all special. Its a $200 place at best:(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: pool
Cons: put the sink in the bathroom
Location: right near the ocean and walking distance to congress street
great staff. loved the salt water pool. bartender was very nice. the only thing i didn't like was the fact that the sink wasn't in the bathroom. always find that to be a weird design.