Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

Didn't meet expectations

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Has great reviews but do not recommend. 1) upon check in I asked the front desk if they had any upgrades available, she said "no, the hotel is a busy hotel and nothing was available". The hotel was empty! 2) 10:45pm a bus full of drunk guys cussing and partying in front of the hotel, loud and obnoxious. Called down to front desk they said " sorry they just left the bar and will be leaving shortly. 3) when I made the reservation I thought I read that it included free breakfast but wasn't sure. I called guest services and asked and was told rudely "no, not at your rate!" With the high reviews I was expecting a better than average experience. Would not pay $200 a night for a not so great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corvallis, OR

Great mattress, outstanding service

Posted Dec 14, 2014
The staff were attentive, friendly and polite. Got a fantastic night's sleep thanks to high end mattress. Everything about the place was casual but elegant. Couldn't ask for a better hotel experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you! Those new mattresses have gotten a ton of love. So glad to hear you had a fantastic nights sleep. Also I love your description of casual but elegant. That is exactly the service we strive to provide. Till next time. Ryan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corvallis, OR

Perfect place to view Christmas Ships

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Near mooring basin, walking path and Riverfront Park. Always something going on on the river - binoculars provided!
Excellent hotel - everyone very friendly. Only very minor criticism is that one needs to be a contortionist to reach the toilet paper dispenser placed far back on the right side in my particular room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
That darn toilet paper location. I am sorry. It is true, there are a few rooms that have a pretty unique bathroom layout that does not allow for easy access to the toilet paper dispenser. I have racked my brain on how to improve this but I am coming up empty. I am going to revisit this problem and come up with a solution, I promise! Thanks for the 5 star review. Ryan
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Staff great. Awesome location. Parking problematic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you had some trouble with parking. We offer 24 hour valet service in front of the hotel, the next time you come to visit be sure to take advantage of their incredible service. Hope to see you soon. Ryan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area to walk or hang out. Not far from Link.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Nice area. Quiet. Right on river and in waterfront park. Small shops in complex. Wine hour and night cap was a a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
So glad to hear you enjoyed our new night cap program! We figured it would be a huge hit. Who doesn't love a wee dram of scotch in the evening? Or at very least who doesn't love that word "wee dram" Thanks for the review! Ryan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Very accommodating staff throughout hotel and restaurant, extra comfortable rooms, and intriguing decor. Overall, a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
We're happy you were happy! I love that you found our decor "intriguing" I do as well. Thanks for the 5 star review! Ryan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salem, OR

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Comfortable, pleasant hotel! Checked in late in the evening, but staff was still very courteous and friendly. Only a brief stay, but will definetly go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Well we would love to have you longer next time. Since you are from Salem you have no excuse not pay us another visit soon. Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Best luxury hotel in Portland

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, comfortable bed
Cons: Better pillows
Great staff, always nice and accommodating. The pillows are a bit flat, but otherwise the room and the amenities are great. Room is clean, and the hotel is pretty quiet. This hotel allows dogs, so you'll hear occasional barks - but not a problem for us. Bring your umbrella and a coat - its cold, wet, and rainy in Portland!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Great suggestion on the umbrella, especially during this time of year! No need to bring one however we got you covered as each guestroom comes equipped with one. Thanks for the great review and thank you for visiting the RiverPlace. Ryan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Superb hotel with superb location in Portland.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location, staffing, comfort, informality, and privacy.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Read any material online about the area and you will take care of your needs easily.
RiverPlace is a wonderful hotel with a superb location, particularly if you are a walker. It is situated in a beautiful setting with access to downtown and many other options, all within striking distance. The staff was fantastic in all regards and the feeling of the overall picture was a 10/10. If you're in Portland, give it a try....most certainly you will not be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Awesome! Thanks for the 5 star review we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future visitors. I agree Portland is very walkable and our location is ideal for either biking, running or walking. See you next time. Ryan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon City, Oregon

Night Away From Home

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: easy and convenient if traveling through town.
Cons: Wish it had a spa
Location: Plenty to do! Lots of activities and eateries within walking distance.
My wife and I wanted to go out for a night away from the house and the Riverplace Kimpton was a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and the restaurant was great for a cozy night in our luxurious room.