Ratings based on 1,386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience, even with toddler.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
We stayed at the River's Edge this week with our two year old for a quick family trip. We've been to Portland before, and this was our favorite hotel so far. The location was perfect, staff accommodating and forgiving of our wild child.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Great hotel. Great views. Very clean. Perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Great location near downtown Portland. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super hotel.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Great location. Everyone was very nice. Stayed in both types of room, defiantly recommend the river view, much nicer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, but not a central location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
If you are looking for relaxation, this is your place. However, you will be "far" away from everything Portland has to offer. There is a shuttle to take you to the Max hub though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from oregon

Genuine 4 Star Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed, free wireless, LCD, riverview (trees), gym, trails
Cons: privacy between hotel rooms on the deck.
After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about this hotel location and amenities. I was proven wrong. The hotel felt upscale and was a genuine 4 star hotel. We stayed in a Riverview King Room, which was good size, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The bonus was the deck. The hotel offers a spa, gym, morning coffee in the lobby, and river trail access. I loved having the deck, it would be nice if it had a bit more privacy, but really no complaints. We sat on it and had a glass of wine. If you want to feel like you are getting away from everything, yet have access to all city amenities, this place is great. If you want to be in walking distance of downtown (shops, museums, cafes), this might not be the hotel for you. But, after staying recently in two other four star hotels downtown, I will return to Rivers Edge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

too expensive for what we received

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: beds
Cons: Food choices. A little too high end for hotel with children
Location: river was nice but I overlooked the fans and vent system
The hotel is by the river and that's nice. But for $300 a night and I overlooked the fans for the lower floor was horrible. The room was clean and nice and the beds were good. The hotel food was next door and again a bit pricy and not children friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC

Warm inviting hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We spent 3 nights at the River's Edge. The room was lovely and hotel staff were terrific. We had a great view without requesting one. The environs were quiet and the room well-appointed. The valets were always quick, though it is a little unfortunate to have to depend on valets to get your car in and out of the hotel parking. While the hotel itself was great, I would not recommend the restaurant. We waited 45 minutes to get our food. Some of our food did not ever get to us (toast, syrup). One of the dishes had a spoiled smell to it. Also I had selected an hour treatment at the spa. The technician only spent about 20 minutes and did not provide the complete treatment. She said she had to go to her "other job" and left the building. She was nice and the front desk staff were nice and reduced the price of my treatment accordingly... It was the ancillary services that really made our rating a 4 instead of a 5. But the hotel itself was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

So relaxing!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms have a balcony overlooking the river.
Cons: It would be great if public transportation were closer, but that's not actually their fault.
Location: Located right on the river, with a river trail passing in front. Great spot to walk/run in the morning/evening.
Even though I was there on business, this hotel was about as comfortable as it gets. The concierge was wonderful and courteous throughout the 4 days I stayed. Tony at the bar was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

rather nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, the quality of the room and bedding
Cons: Not much
Location: A little too far from downtown Portland, and although they will take you (via courtesy car) to nearby attractions, they won't pick you back up.
Although I didn't have a chance to take advantage of the spa, the River's Edge Hotel and Spa is a nice place to stay. The staff was very nice, the attached restaurant is excellent (had a fantastic dinner) and the overall feel of the place is very good. The location is a little off the beaten path, which I found mildly inconvenient. It was also rather expensive. But, as I said, it was nice....