Ratings based on 1,422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom long island NY

very good value but bring your own food

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Views of the river and staff , quiet location in a kind of industrial area.
Cons: The restaurant food is poor, staff annoying and way too expensive.
Location: Drive into downtown which means its quieter than many downtown hotels, but if you want nightlife and good restaurants you need to have a car.
The hotel furnishings are "gently used" overall staff are very pleasant and helpful. Bed was decent not great. Off site restaurant with poor and very expensive breakfast a big down side. Spa is good, king corner suite excellent value. Expedia average room rate price matched for an extended stay. Construction on the building was annoying in the mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corvallis

Location

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room carpets need to be changed.
Location: Restaurant, great views.
The location is perfect for going to City concerts and dinner without driving through the congestion. Hotel sponsors lemo service into the City. You need to cab it back for only $9.00. Room has all the necessities and excellent restaurant next door. Reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puyallup, WA

Very nice hotel.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The room was very well laid out and felt spacious. Large bathroom with walk in shower. Convenience to down town
Location: Be sure to do some window shopping on 23rd and 21st in the North end of town. The street car will take you all the way there. Dinner at Mucca Osteria
Clean, comfortable room on the river side. Hotel is only two blocks from the street car line which gives you access to most of the down town area. Staff is friendly and they gave us a ride to our dinner destination, door to door. My wife and I both had massages at the spa.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

So-so hotel.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: Because of it's location, a better shuttle service.
Location: Not a good location for a visitor to the city. Public transportation does not run by the hotel.
If you're visiting, it's in an out-of-the way location so it is difficult to get around without a car. The public transportation system is several blocks away. Although the hotel has a shuttle, it is very limited to what it will do and not publicized unless you have a helpful desk clerk. No shuttle to and from the airport. The employees are pleasant for the most part - some are more helpful and knowledgable than others. Not worth the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kaneohe, Hawaii

Wonderful stay until we got a big surprise.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The Aquariva restaurant. Proximity to family in Milwaukie and close to town.
Cons: Lighting! Need to be upfront about the parking rates.
Location: The tram to OHSU - nice views. Close to streetcar. Near wonderful church, Foursquare Waterfront Church.
Our stay was mostly positive. The room kind of overlooked the river. A stand of cottonwoods blocked our view but not the hotels fault. The room was medium sized but very dim. Not enough lighting. The restaurant that serves the hotel was excellent. We did get a surprise upon check out. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was they did not charge for parking, however, upon checkout found they charged $25 a day. I did not protest because I thought I might have missed it. Nor were the rates disclosed upon checking in. Bad form. In addition, I went online through Expedia and could not find anything regarding the parking rates. I don't know if this was Expedia's fault or the hotels but definitely soured our stay and we will not stay again on our return visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lakewood, WA

Very Nice Suite View and Spa, ALMOST Excellent

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Excellent, spacious suite, minus a few details (details can be important however). Great balcony, view (river side) and spa, Comfortable & romantic
Cons: Attention to detail, maintenance lacking. Put the correct room service menus in the rooms. And be more aware of your own internet offers on room rates
Location: Great path along riverfront, Charthouse restaurant, away from dntown, great spa, needn't go anywhere, relax n stay in, enjoy the View and Room
Stayed in the River View Suite with Fireplace and Spa Tub, room was very good overall, but lacked the attention to detail one should expect in the premier suite of the hotel...in particular the toilet seats were old and had yellowing/corrosion of some kind around the edges...they were clean however, it was just so out of place in a deluxe suite like this. The front door also had an issue, it would not open or close without a LOT of noise, which was irritating. They allow dogs apparently, and every time I opened or closed the door to our suite, no matter how carefully, the dog in the room across the hall would start barking.While using the very nice spa tub, with my girlfriend, our phone started ringing, which we ignored, then someone started banging on our door! They said water was leaking into the room below us.When I brought it up with the front desk and complained about the interruption, they offered me the room at their normal Sunday rate and acted like they were giving me a special deal because of my inconvenience. I had already negotiated an even lower rate with a different person but hadn't pulled the trigger yet...This suite was very nice as was the spa, however the lack of attention to detail and the dishonesty of the person who offered me the 'good deal' on an extra day really took a lot of the shine off. The speakerphone in the living room also needed to be replaced, all this points to poor management. The Hotel, staff and location are excellent nonetheless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel along on the river

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Great hotel, very comfortable. Staff was friendly and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needed to relax

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Did not like the feather pillows and did not find out until check out they could of been changed. Something should of been in the room saying this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: Nothing open in the area to pick up a little snack or drink. Wished there was a store if not in the hotel then near it.
Location: Busing is within walking distance of the hotel.
couldn't ask for a better hotel; it was clean, neat and the staff couldn't be more helpful. 4 stars to not only the hotel but the entire staff as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience, even with toddler.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
We stayed at the River's Edge this week with our two year old for a quick family trip. We've been to Portland before, and this was our favorite hotel so far. The location was perfect, staff accommodating and forgiving of our wild child.