Ratings based on 1,127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tenino WA

Thanksgiving Day

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Great location to downtown-Broadway, and shopping, and museum.
Location: Great restaurants, near the Pearl district and Powell's book store. Within walking distance to lots of shopping, exhibits, theaters....
Grateful to those who worked on Thursday to serve us in the hotel and at Jake's located on the ground floor. The experience was wonderful and very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaelfrom BC

Sentinel Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was nice. Staff very nice. Generally, the Sentinel met our expectations and was conveniently located downtown. We were disappointed to be put in a room that faced a brick wall. We didn't expect a view but thought we would at least look out on the street. Secondly, parking is outrageously expensive. We paid $84 CDN for two nights parking. If I had know it was going to be that much before booking, I probably would have looked elsewhere. So while it was all nice, it was not great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Historic Icon Shines

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Sentinel kept all the historic charm of this landmark hotel and made it better. The public areas sparkle, and the rooms have updated furnishings and comforts befitting an architectural icon. My room had a fireplace, which gave it a very "clubby" feel. It had a large round library table and oversized chairs, and was in a corner of the hotel with a nice view. I enjoyed room service from Jakes Grill in the lobby, which was delivered very promptly by the bell staff. The only drawback I found was in internet access. You had to go through Facebook, which I don't use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom dallas

excellent

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outstanding for the money right in the heart of everything. Very comfy beds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Portland gem

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really loved this hotel. Great location and impressive remodel-very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Great hotel, would stay there again. The bed was comfortable, the decor was modern, the room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, QC, Canada

Great hotel in fantastic location

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Great character -historical building. Well designed - very comfortable, tasteful and fun use of colours & large format photos in the hall. Staff great
Cons: It is good to ask for a room on a high floor as the street can be a put noisy with train & streetcar.
Location: Fantastic location - galleries, shopping, bars & amazing restaurants. Staff was very knowledgeable with great suggestions.
We stayed for 2 nights at the Sentinel, It was our first time in Portland and the hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance of downtown & the Pearl District. Lots of great design shops & excellent restaurants close by. A big pod of food trucks is around the corner from the hotel/