Ratings based on 1,029 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel was beautiful. Everyone was really nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful, reasonably priced hotel in West End

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Great hotel with old world charm mixed with all the modern features you need. Large room with a very large bathroom. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Portland and especially those who want a "Portland experience."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kings Beach, CA

Cute boutique hotel in great location

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The accommodations were fantastic. Fully stocked mini-bar with refreshments, beautiful lobby, great bar "Jackknife" attached to the lobby with a fantastic whisky selection and a mean Moscow Mule, centrally located. My only criticism is that after a full night bar-hopping on the town my partner and I were really looking forward to the "24-hour room-service" that was advertised on the website and in the hotel room, but were very disappointed. We were told they only had cold turkey sandwiches left from the restaurant. Ehh...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Very nice hotel and rooms With the exception of one bell captain none of staff knew where any of the sites were located or best ways to walk or drive. The front desk had to look up everything. If they correct this issue I would rate a 4.7
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lobby, boring rooms

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Overall, disappointing for the price and the grandness of the lobby. The rooms are ordinary and many look into a dreary courtyard. Boring room fittings and design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stacy from vancouver, BC

Great hotel 5 minutes to Pineer square

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The hotel is very comfy. I love their Italian beddings! Even it's a historical building, no weird smell at all. And it's really convieniant to stay here, with a dinner place just downstairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
We appreciate the positive review as well as the fact that you enjoyed the soft beds and Marchione linen. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your review. Regards, Chris Bebo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, central location in Portland.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The4 hotel was very elegant. Recent renovatoins are apparant and they have cetainly done a great job.
Location: Great restaurants and sports bars within blocks. Easy walk to the river. Great architecture in Portland.
The hotel was very easy to find. Walking distance to many services, shopping, restaurtants, sports bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
What a great review. Thank you. Portland is a very easy town to navigate and Sentinel, within walking distance to much of what Portland has to offer, is perfectly located. We look forward to your return. Chris Bebo General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Vancouver, BC

Great hotel that's pet friendly

Posted May 28, 2014
We stayed at this hotel along with our dog a 60lb Huskey/shepered cross. It was great, they had no problem with our dog and the staff was really nice. I plan to stay here every time I visit Portland
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
We are pleased to know that Sentinel is your home away from home when visiting Portland. And, of course, your furry friend is always welcome. Glad to have shared National Pet Month with you. Looking forward to your next visit. Regards, Chris Bebo General Manager
2 out of 5
by portland visito

Overpriced with a great view of a brick wall

Posted May 24, 2014
Bathroom door stuck, had to adjust flapper in toilet bowl in the middle of night, had to be contortionist to get to toilet paper, no guide to city or phone book in room, view of a brick wall, small room, elevator out of service, upon check out valet could not be contacted on radio by front desk , until I pointed him out on street talking to cab driver, 1 chair in room. Never will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear about your recent visit. Needless to say, your concerns are valid and I assure you, I will follow up on them personally. As evidence by the vast majority of positive reviews, I can confidentally state that your experience is very unusual. Again, I promise to follow up on each of your concerns and apologize for the less than perfect experience. Please consider staying with us in the future. We will work very hard to earn back your trust. Regards, General Manager