Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous Hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: We could walk to anywhere from the hotel - it was very conveniently located.
Location: Centrally located - access to everything.
I had the luck of being given an upgraded room in this hotel - what a great experience. Bed, comfy. Bathroom, loads of space. Sitting room, awesome. The gym had loads of equipment, no water, though. You need to provide water in a gym. Starbucks is attached as is a wonderful restaurant on the other side of the hotel. The location is perfect - within walking distance of everything you want from the museum to Chinese gardens to VooDoo Doughnuts...oh, and brew pubs ! Lot's of brew pubs in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic staff

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Very nice Hotel, plenty of facilities, great restaurants. easy access to both south and north motorways. The staff are very good, from the front to the back. We had 5 rooms, and we were there collectively either from 1 night to 4 nights, and no negative experiences for any of us. I personally had an issue with my room being noisy on the first night, the staff were very accommodating, moved me straight away, and then following up to ensure I was ok, and comfortable. Great service. Next time in Portland, we will be straight back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grants Pass, OR

Pretty good

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Friendly staff, clean rooms, great location. I missed a meal and had some problems with the horrible late night room service options. They told me to basically go down to the loud bar..The options were turkey panini or a bowl of soup.I only mention this because it was the poorest late night room service selection I've ever encountered. The rest of the stay was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Condescending desk clerk set the tone

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: Suggest to the 20 something staff that people over 40 still like to have fun!
Location: Powell Books and the Pearl
When we checked in (Saturday night at 9:30 pm) the young woman at the desk made statements like “The bar gets really busy at night, you might want to wait until Sunday and then go around 6pm” When she gave us directions to the elevator she directed us to the ramp rather than the TWO steps up from the lobby. She gave us a terrible room with a view of a brick wall and carpeting that was so uneven it seemed to be coming up from the floor. We did move our room, to one with more light. It was dark when we arrived so we could not really see out to what looked like a small balcony. In the light of day it turned out to be where the climate control systems were housed (The machinery vibrated all night) and the “balcony” was full of very scummy water. I understand the boutique nature of the hotel, but the tiny rooms were painted black (making them seem smaller), there were no drawers to put anything away and the the bathroom was tiny for two people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma

Romantic getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: very nice without being stuffy
Cons: the only thing would be to have a better shower.... yet if it was better, it might seem out of place... lose the charm., so no... it was perfect
Location: center of everything... walked to local parks, tons of food trucks around, lots to see and do. wish we had more time to stay.
very great service from the valet greeting us to the front desk, felt like movie stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Just As Nice The Second Time Around

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, comfort, staff, wide range of TV channels, free internet.
Cons: Nothing. Everything was great.
Location: Central downtown near famous food trucks, the Pearl District, and plenty of restaurants.
We returned for one night about a month after our first visit, and although we weren't upgraded the second time around, we were just as impressed with the hotel's location, decor, comfort, and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Definitely will stay here again. The room was cozy and roomy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Old Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Our stay was great. Such a beautiful old bldg. with cozy rooms, comfortable beds and very friendly helpful staff. The location is very central with easy transportation outside the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Oregon

This hotel replaces the Governor Hotel.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
I loved the Governor,, and this hotel is very different. It is much more contemporary and makes better use of the ballroom space that used to exist. It has its own comfortable bar and lounge, but Jake's Restaurant and Bar have also been incorporated into the main floor. Expedia sent an email asking what feature was most important to us, and I replied 'view'. We were given an upgrade that featured a large terrace facing east toward downtown. Wonderful!! It is not the Governor but it is a very nice hotel in an historic building with many touches of elegance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ask and ye shall receive.. If there's availability

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Central location, trolley car stop, light rail stop, highly recommended!