Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc, canada

3rd visit, might change hotels next time

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We come to Portland once a year for our anniversary and have stayed here 3 times in a row now. The first two years we had a good experience and would have recommended this hotel as a decent accommodation. This year however, our room smelled very musty and much like the sauna they have downstairs (have not been down there). The front desk employee was quite unhelpful. We needed another blanket so we called to the front but no answer. We went to the front desk and had to call out to get her to the front. Then it took over 20 minutes to get our blanket delivered. It seemed as though she was having a personal crisis, but it was quite unprofessional. Other than that, the room was fine, nothing fancy. Decent complimentary breakfast, and the next days staff was more pleasant. We might come back again next year because we like the location so much, but we will try finding another hotel first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for quilt convention

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Super location for quilt convention at Convention Center. We easily walked the 5 blocks each morning. The manager, Jason, was especially helpful and friendly. He was always in a good mood and stayed patient with the many customers coming and going. He helped us carry luggage to our 2nd floor room once we found there was no elevator. When the room's hair dryer stopped working, he purchased a new one for our use. The breakfast room was small, but adequate and clean. There were not many food choices, but enough to offer a start to our day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We had an excellent experience staying at the Shilo. Jason , the desk clerk , was outstanding. He gave us advice on where to eat and how to take public transport. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect to tour downtown and the price is less than half of a downtown hotel. We plan to stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Not that great

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: bed was not bad
Cons: demolish it and start over
Location: close to streetcar line and rose quarter. Hard to get to by foot from MAX
Check in took 20 minutes. Looks like the place hasn't been updated for about 25 years. Needs upgrades. Price was relatively high for quality of motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Barking Dog and Slamming Doors

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location. Price. Staff competence.
Cons: The doors. Staff attitudes.
Location: See above.
This motel is dog friendly, so we had a barking dog next to our room. It barked whenever I put the key into the door. Room doors slam loudly and forcibly enough to shake the building. But at night it was quiet, and I always got a good sleep. Good location. Efficient, competent staff. Breakfast--bagels, English muffins, muffins in cellophane; old apples; juice; hot coffee or tea; packaged oatmeal . . . But I'd go back because it is OK, and it is cheap, relative to the nearby downtown. It is not downtown, but it's walking distance for the hardy and a $10 cab ride for the soft. Light rail and street car nearby. Refrigerator, but no room safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Nice place to have a stay

Posted Jul 30, 2014
This is a pretty Inn in this area, just few minutes walk from the rail station, very easy to go to everywhere in the city. There are not much public facilities in this inn, however the room is big and very comfortable with all necessaries. The breakfast is simple but enough if you don't ask much. Besides, the staff there are also very friendly and enthusiastic have made us very impressive. Averagely, this is a nice place to have a stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Reasonably priced; but you get what you pay for

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and Price.
Cons: Either drop breakfast or improve it. Also, time to upgrade the beds.
The price was right. One of the lowest mid-level hotels near downtown. 5 minutes from heart of downtown and Lloyd Center. But bed was uncomfortable, the breakfast is a joke, and their 4PM check in policy is unreasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel. You get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Nothing special. But it served our purpose while we are in Portland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Booked this for out-of-town guests: disappointed.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: This motel was the least desirable among many other hotel/motels but within the same price range. Very disappointing.
Guests from Arizona flew in to visit several of our business sites in the Portland area. We booked the Shilo Inn online and assumed because of the name (and high price) that it would be excellent. When we met our guests at the motel, we were shocked at the appearance of the facility, the shady demeanor of the other guests and the frazzled reception desk attendant. We often book sight unseen, but this experience really caught us off-balance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Good location, affordable price, nice staffs, clean room..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by ShiloInns, Hotel Management
Thank you for recognizing our special brand of “Affordable Excellence.” We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager