Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Excellent value

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Not the fanciest place but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Surprisingly comfortable in fact. The air conditioning was ice cold. For the price, this place is a tremendous value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
it was fine. Once we told the front desk about the barking dog it was taken care of right away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown Portland

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The Shiloh Inn met our needs during our stay in Portland, OR. Easy access to freeway. Only negative: toilet/shower area too small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven CT

mixed review

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: location
This was a great location for us, not far from the highway entrance and easy trip downtown. The staff was great but the room smelled like someone had smoked in it and we spent the next 3 days airing it out. The staff was apologetic, did not have another room to offer so they gave us a discount for out entire stay. There is a lot of food for breakfast but be aware, Portland has new health guidelines so there is no dairy served. Bring our own milk for coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Oregon

Very close to Moda Center (5minute walk).

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Close to Moda Center.
Cons: Upgrade TV to flat screen.
Location: Moda Center, close to down town & restaurants.
Older motel, small rooms, very clean, good staff. If you just want a place to sleep when coming to Portland to see an event at the Moda Center. this is the only inexpensive motel in the immediate area. Decent rooms, good parking, good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Good value and location, no frills though

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Possibly more services or extras, but that could compromise the price level.
Location: Location is good - not much in the immediate area, but you're just a walk/transit ride/cycle ride/quick drive away from most of Portland.
The Shilo Inn at Rose Garden is in a convenient location - near the streetcars and buses, and within a five-minute drive (or ten-minute cycle ride) of most of downtown Portland. The hotel itself is very no-frills - clean and comfortable, but not much in the way of extras. The price is affordable compared to other options in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rogue River OR

Hotel is close to business and conference stays.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice. Breakfast was nice for being a continental style breakfast. Beds were comfy.
Cons: Just a MAJOR amount of TLC to the whole hotel. So old.
Location: Very handy for people on business. Easy to get to off the freeway and easy to exit the town.
The hotel definitely needs to be completely updated. It was clean, for an old hotel but is so needed a TLC lift. The staff was very nice and works hard. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. It just needs to be remodeled to strive to the Shilo Inn Hotels standards. I felt it was spendy but at least we got us a room when badly needed. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc, canada

3rd visit, might change hotels next time

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We come to Portland once a year for our anniversary and have stayed here 3 times in a row now. The first two years we had a good experience and would have recommended this hotel as a decent accommodation. This year however, our room smelled very musty and much like the sauna they have downstairs (have not been down there). The front desk employee was quite unhelpful. We needed another blanket so we called to the front but no answer. We went to the front desk and had to call out to get her to the front. Then it took over 20 minutes to get our blanket delivered. It seemed as though she was having a personal crisis, but it was quite unprofessional. Other than that, the room was fine, nothing fancy. Decent complimentary breakfast, and the next days staff was more pleasant. We might come back again next year because we like the location so much, but we will try finding another hotel first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for quilt convention

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Super location for quilt convention at Convention Center. We easily walked the 5 blocks each morning. The manager, Jason, was especially helpful and friendly. He was always in a good mood and stayed patient with the many customers coming and going. He helped us carry luggage to our 2nd floor room once we found there was no elevator. When the room's hair dryer stopped working, he purchased a new one for our use. The breakfast room was small, but adequate and clean. There were not many food choices, but enough to offer a start to our day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We had an excellent experience staying at the Shilo. Jason , the desk clerk , was outstanding. He gave us advice on where to eat and how to take public transport. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect to tour downtown and the price is less than half of a downtown hotel. We plan to stay here again.