Ratings based on 1,973 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bothell, WA

Great Spot for Girls Weekend!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Love the beautifully maintained interior. Lobby is absolutely gorgeous; restaurant food was delicious!
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. It was a quick drive to the old Rose Garden for the concert.
We stayed at this beautiful hotel for a girl's weekend and the Garth Brooks concert. The hotel is beautiful and beautifully maintained. Lovely restaurant and bar in lobby is very convenient and the staff there is great as well!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
We greatly value your positive feedback! It’s wonderful to hear that we were able to help make your girl’s weekend even better. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed our restaurant, bar and staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gig Harbor, Wa

Not quite a 5

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Nice ambiance and the feeling of being in a historic place.
Cons: Hire new phone operators that match the level of quality that customers expect when booking this hotel.
Location: I was there for a convention. It is close to the Max.
The room was very nicely appointed and the Tempurpedic bed was a plus for me. In my experience, I had very mixed levels of customer service with the staff. Everyone I met in person was great. The issue I had was with the different hotel operators I interacted with on the phone. Not at all a great level of service with them....pretty much on par with what one might expect calling the local muffler servicing center. Not listening, cutting me off mid-sentence and transferring me in the middle of talking to them. They also didn't get my room service order from my door which left me scrambling for breakfast. I don't want to get into the specifics of this because it's boring. Overall, it was a good value and I would stay here again. My brother stays at this hotel frequently and said he has never had an issue with the service, so I assume it's a fluke. If it happens again though, that will be it for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you bringing the hotel operator incident to our attention as this is certainly not an acceptable standard we want our guest to experience. We will be looking into how we can improve this with additional training right away. On the whole, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Four stars overall.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
There is nothing wrong with this "historical" hotel, unless... Well, maybe in modern time you already expecting different level of amenities. Let's start with "goodies". The lobby is truly magnificent! With old charms, mahogany and antic paintings all around. Stuff is cheerful and accommodating. We arrived at 10:30 pm and restaurant was still open with full menu of its famous and delicious Northwestern Pacific cuisine accompanied with the best Oregonian Pinot Noirs. The room was also good and capacious. And that about it. No spa, no pool, no gym except small room with few machines which was (no surprise) always over occupied. But, for those who doesn't looking for that kind of services this hotel is a very good choice. I can add that it's in the heart of the Portland's downtown with its mall, shopping and restaurants. Four stars overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Ron, Hotel Management
We take great care to ensure that our property is well-maintained, so it means a lot to us that you found our lobby to be magnificent. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our dining options, spacious guest rooms, and central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
check-in was easy, we pulled up front on motorcycles...no rush for us to move the bikes out of the way, everyone was friendly and accommodating...the rooms were spotless and super comfortable...I would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Ron G, Hotel Management
I am glad to read that you enjoyed so much about your stay with us, from our personable staff to our clean and comfortable guest rooms. We eagerly await your return stay at The Benson.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Comfy Bed

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The bed, the soft sheets
Picked this hotel based on price, star rating, and pictures. The room itself compared to the pictures didn't exactly match up but wasn't beyond the tolerance of staged photographs vs actual. Overall, hotel had an older vibe, which is cool in its own way. Bathroom wasn't anything special but had a nice floor mat (which most places don't have and you end up throwing a towel down because the tiles are cold or dirty feeling), so that was nice. The best part is the bed and pillows. Great pillow menu, firm bed that's comfortable at the same time. Sheets were ultra soft and silky feeling. My power naps all went into overtime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Ron G, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Benson. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with comfortable rooms, and it is a delight to learn that our beds and classic decor made you feel at home. We hope to see you again the next time that you’re in the Portland area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

Celebrating 44 years at the Benson Hotel!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Totally comfortable! Staff can't do enough for you.
Cons: Nothing that we could see.
Location: Convenient for walking around and shopping.
We had stayed at the Benson 35 years ago - celebrating 44 years together we decided to return. The stay was wonderful! We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite - WOW! Awesome room! Dinner at El Gaucho's adjacent to the hotel. Good - but way too much food! We would definitely stay at the Benson again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2015 by Ron G, Hotel Management
We are honored to read that The Benson left such a lasting impression on you for all these years. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the presidential suite and your dinner at the wonderful El Gaucho. Thank you very much for your review and happy anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bend, OR

Weekend in Portland

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom could be upgraded a bit.
Location: The mall is within walking distance as well as the waterfront. We went to the movies and you can always catch a ride on the bus to go any where!
We love staying at The Benson Hotel! It's In walking distance to everything we like to go to. Our favorite restaurant is located next door, El Gaucho. The rooms are older but nice and it's comfy. I think the price for overnight parking is a little much & the bathroom didn't have a fan, otherwise it's very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Luiza, Hotel Management
It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Portland and your stay at The Benson.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Portland Business Stay

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: El Gauchos- the Hotel's upscale restaurant has a nice look and fell but unfortunately the food was sub par (filet with lobster topping-served lukewarm
Venerable medium sized boutique Hotel centrally located in downtown Portland on Broadway Street. Friendly, courteous staff and helpful concierge. Comfortable, clean room with amply stocked mini-bar, nice TV and excellent bed and bedding. Nice Hotel Lobby Bar with a lively crowd on weekends given that it is a local favorite for upper scale weddings, parties and events. The lone negative is the Hotel's high end restaurant ("El Gauchos") which I tried on my own and whose high price is not justified given the food. There are a number of great restaurants nearby and I appreciated the excellent recommendations received from the Hotel concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Luiza, Hotel Management
We certainly appreciate your 5 star review of The Benson. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our staff, beds, and lobby bar. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you’re on a business trip in Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would go back

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Great location, friendly/helpful staff. A couple of small things: hallway noisy and shower grout could use a cleaning
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Luiza, Hotel Management
Thank you for constructive feedback about the noise levels in the hallway and the shower grout needing a cleaning. We will certainly pass this information along to the appropriate staff so that your stay will better in the future. We are happy to hear however that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Hotel was nice, valet parking a nightmare. Valet staff was condescending when I had trouble with parking the car out front. It was a rental car and I was a little unfamiliar with the steptronic device. Very rude. Won't stay there again because of it.