Ratings based on 1,836 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel
Bathroom very small, couldn't adjust shower water temperature..too hot or too cold. Kind of a pain to always have to use room key for elevator. Valet parking was difficult, had to stop in street.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just okay.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: There were dirty q-tips on the floor in the bathroom when I checked in, I find this totally gross.
Location is ideal, but probably the best part about the hotel, the bathroom was dirty and the sink was broken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Great hotel. Convenient location. Will stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice historic hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Very clean and very comfortable beds.
Cons: Since the room doors are not sealed at the bottom (aprox. an inch and a half of space), it lets a lot of noise from the hall come in to your room.
This hotel will make your stay a comfortable one and its location is probably the best value out of it. It is a couple of blocks from the Pearl District and within walking distance to many of downtown Portland attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy Downtown Hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014
We found the Benson to be as pictured. A warm, inviting Lobby to meet w/friends&family. Enjoy a drink and listen to live music. Easy walking to train, shopping, cultural arts, dining etc. Over all pleasant experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san Jose, ca

Great location in Portland

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Room was comfortable and mattress firm. Being in Downtown, I was pleased how quiet the room was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Night in Portland

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The lobby area, seating and dining areas were lovely.
Cons: The décor and general updates are needed.
Location: Good location downtown with many local sites nearby.
We liked the location and price of this upscale hotel, but found it to be a bit outdated. The closet door was pretty shabby and paint was pealing off the entire door. We received a mini-bar key, but there were only cookies and crackers available - no soft drinks or alcohol. In addition, the windows are not soundproofed, so at 6:30am we could hear loud sawing noises from street workers below. They also had a fire alarm go off in the morning, at which point they broadcast that they were looking into the problem, but around 5 - 10 minutes later reported it was not an emergency.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom eastern oregon

hotel is downtown Portland Oregon.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location and employees very helpful.
Cons: Room very small and and outdated.
Location: good location and nice restaurants near by.
close to downtown. Very nice. Hotel is classy in the lobby. My room was small and I looked out at a wall. It was an internet special that was not very special. Room service is expensive but waiters are excellent. Bigger rooms I presume are a lot more expensive. Parking is expensive at 33 a night. Attendents very helpful as well as concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Ron, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at The Benson. We apologize your expectations were not exceeded on this occasion. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in hopes of renewing your feelings toward our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom 埼玉

ビジネスに最適

Posted Oct 23, 2014
しっとりとした落ち着きの有るホテル。 ロビーは映画にでてくる様な重厚感があり、日本では見られない雰囲気を醸し出している。
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Old world charm a bit dated

Posted Oct 20, 2014
While the staff were great, the old world charm of the decor has become a bit dated. It felt rather like staying in an elderly aunt's house rather than hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Ron, Hotel Management
We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments. We will share your review with our team.