Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by elle from new york, new york

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Gorgeous grounds. Close to beach. Well kept rooms. Friendly staff. Long walk to town. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by margo

Amazing

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Pool, marine bar, decor, rooms, private beach, proximity to town.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to center of town with lots of shops and restaurants. Get clams and lobster!
Charming historic hotel. Close to town. Great staff and amazing overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jacki from Syracuse, NY

Great weekend stay

Posted Jul 22, 2013
We loved spending the weekend at The Colony. We were first time visitors. This is the "anti-Disney" hotel, so prepare to relax. There's no A/C in rooms, no TV, and no characters running around. There IS great service, a family friendly atmosphere, and a casual elegance about the place. Pool is great and loved having bikes to ride into the charming town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah from Detroit MI

Beautiful old hotel on the Maine coast

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Amazing views! Great location within walking distance of town and beach!
Cons: Initially we were disappointed about there being no tvs in the rooms but quickly adjusted :)
Location: Easy walk down to Walker Point where George Bush vacations. Also fun touristy shopping, pretty neighborhoods to walk and whale watching.
We had a family reunion at the Colony and it was a great venue for our event. The meeting space was nice, food good and rooms had great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DH from Kent, UK

Lovely hotel and very good value

Posted Oct 13, 2012
Pros: Surroundings
Cons: Noise
Location: Ideal. Sea views and about 30 minutes walk from town
Lovely old hotel in beautiful position overlooking Atlantic. Reception staff were very welcoming and breakfast which was included in the price was delicious a and plentiful. Unfortunately our room was in the east house which did need a little tlc and the whole room shook all day and night with the noise coming from another guest's heating/ac. The hotel acknowledged that they were aware of the problem and we felt that they should not have been using rooms affected by the noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Oct 7, 2012
a great hotel in a great state and town. what a beautiful area to have a grand old building. kept up very nicely and presented with the utmost of proudness. my wife and i stayed there and it was the best hotel that i was ever in. we will go back again soon we hope. they are dog friendly we saw alot of nice friendly people and their pets. good breakfest and great views what more can you ask for. just one regret and that was not the hotels fault the construction of the roads were a major problem, but we did overlook that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul and Lauren

Excellent two night stay

Posted Oct 6, 2012
Pros: Dog friendly to the max
Cons: No elevators in old buildings
Clean, comfortable on the ocean shore, dog friendly, historically recognized. We absolutely loved it. The only downside for some people is the fitnes facilities - it is walk down the street and pay $10 a workout. Everything else great. Oh yeah, the complimentary breakfast is a full buffet, high quality food. Excellent 2 night stay .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Beautiful Colony

Posted Sep 15, 2012
The Colony was more beautiful than the online pictures. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Hope to stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Well-traveled from Boston

All-round top-notch, for family and dog

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: Lovely pool - heated and large.
Cons: No complaints at all.
Location: Beautiful site - directly on the Maine coast.
A top-notch dog-friendly hotel at last! accepts dogs!). Our old labrador had a lovely stay (and therefore so did we). Very strategically placed doggie poop bag dispensers, we didn't see a single 'accident', all the lawns were perfectly clean. For once, we felt as if it was 'normal' and understandable to want to be on vacation with the 5th member of the family. On a non-dog note: pool was lovely (heated sea-water) and very under-used, which was great for me, as an adult swimmer. Food: we had a delicious evening meal in the restaurant, and we are quite 'discerning' in that direction. (Just a suggestion: espresso coffee, please!!) And the buffet breakfast was excellent - we arrived near the end, around 9.30 am, but it was still being regularly replenished with blueberry pancakes, scrambled egg, quite heavenly (and no doubt highly calorific) bread pudding (never before seen by us for breakfast at a hotel). International staff with no exceptions ALL very welcoming - smiles and greetings from everyone. This is not always the case in 'higher class' hotels, where sometimes the 'class' is lacking and even 'stuffy' on the welcome level. Not here - discreet AND friendly IS possible!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike & Margaret from Surrey, UK

By the sea

Posted Oct 20, 2011
Impressive building with a lot of history, and lovely sea views. Room was comfortable, breakfast good but could have done with coffee in room. Bar closed at 10pm and didn't serve hot drinks