Ratings based on 1,035 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with the room size

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The location was great, however for the amount of money that I paid for the room I expected more. We got two bottles of water free, however the snacks they had in a basket were for a ridiculous fee. $3 for a small bag of M&M's? really? The room was small, the bathroom was even smaller. I am a small person and even I didn't have enough room in the bathroom to blow dry my hair! Very disappointed! Will not stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staunton, va

excellent hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Cozy, friendly, convenient.
Cons: I'd like reservation staff to be more polished and flexible with requests.
The Heathman is an old favorite of mine, with a distinctive feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location-central to shopping and theatre

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great room and restaurant
Location: Shopping, theatre, museums, restaurants
Very comfortable accommodations and excellent restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

well appointed hotel located downtown

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Outstanding service, well appointed hotel, easy access to transit
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Downtown, close to MAX line, shopping, the waterfront and many of the food carts.
Lovely hotel and close to the MAX line. Rooms were well appointed and the service is outstanding, and the free wine tastings and library are a bonus. Minor complaint my room faced the main street so it was noisy at times with the sounds of traffic so ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Overall, an excellent hotel and I will return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Portland Visit

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Customer service and scale of the hotel.
Cons: We thought the heathman was on top of their game. I never give a perfect score, but the Heathman gets one for our visit.
Location: Prime central location, easy access to the arts venues (Ex Schnitzer next door).
My wife stated multiple times it was the best hotel stay she has experienced. We stayed one full week, The Heathman met all expectations. Anyone visiting Portland can do themselves a favor staying at the Heathman. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue WA

Nice Downtown Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Good food
Cons: Bar prices are too high.
Excellent service including the front door attendents
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, mostly good service

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Everything here was lovely, except that our room wasn't made up until 5 pm the following day. Someone came in and replaced the wine used from mini bar, but didn't take the old bottle. Also, after ordering breakfast in the room, we called for someone to come get tray and it took 6 hrs...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, OR

Portland downtown

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Great hotel and staff. The beds and pillows were a bit uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Talent, OR

Fantastic Hotel in Downtown Portland

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything - the atmosphere, the room, the service, and the restaurant. We ate one dinner and 3 breakfasts in the restaurant. All meals delicious.
Cons: Hard to imagine. The valet parking was high at 34/night but, since we didn't need the car while there, the doorman showed us a nearby garage at 15/nt
Location: Great location right in the downtown area with east access to public transportation. We were attending a concert at Arlene Schnitzer - next door!
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Heathman. Everyone was exceptionally helpful and friendly. We showed our Gold Expedia card and we're given a free upgrade to a Renaissance Suite which was very large (600 sq. ft.) and delightfully appointed. We had one maintenance issue with a couple lights that weren't working. It was taken care of immediately! Wonderful staff highly trained to make you feel special. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in downtown Portland.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff
Location: Easy access to downtown, public transportation, restaurants, etc.
We were very pleased with The Heathman. It was a nice, clean hotel in downtown Portland. The rooms aren't huge, but were fine for two people. The staff was helpful with all of our questions and needs.