Ratings based on 1,049 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Excellent hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: I liked that the hotel is small, personal attention, convenient location.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Close to shopping and mass transit.
My favorite hotel in Portland. Just two blocks from Pioneer Square, convenient to Max rail, shopping, fine dining... and more. Lovely room with high end appointments. Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

Good location and nice classic interior

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Good access from the air port and good location to PSU.
Cons: Beds was very high, so hard to climb up when having backache.
Location: The city is small, so that we walked to PSU, Museum, shopping and restaurants for dinners.
A little dark in the rooms but the restaurant was nice and popular classic one where we enjoyed breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calistoga, CA

Just what we hoped for on weekend trip.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Perfect downtown location, very comfortable and staff was polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienent location!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
The staff was stellar, rooms where clean and good size for two people. Great bar and restaurant in hotel The hotel is walking distance to restaurant's and shopping also 1 block from the mass rail system . (Easy to get around transportation!)oh .........almost forgot to mention Cacao is also in the hotel an incredible drinking chocolate , coffee and chocolatier! Need I say more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Talent

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Staff. Restaurant.
Cons: The queen bedrooms are very comfortable and very small. Try to get one of the larger rooms.
Although we couldn't get an upgrade as they were very full, we were given a late (2PM) checkout which was very conventient for us. The staff here is the best of any hotel we've ever stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Classic and Comfortable

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Stay was pleasant. Room was comfortable and clean. Not really a "luxury" hotel, but well above average. The staff were helpful and polite. Turndown service was a nice touch. An oddity: to add a bit of interest (I guess) they have a doorman dressed in a "Beefeater" costume. The costume looks like it came from K-Mart, though, so it looks silly instead of kitschy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with the room size

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The location was great, however for the amount of money that I paid for the room I expected more. We got two bottles of water free, however the snacks they had in a basket were for a ridiculous fee. $3 for a small bag of M&M's? really? The room was small, the bathroom was even smaller. I am a small person and even I didn't have enough room in the bathroom to blow dry my hair! Very disappointed! Will not stay there again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staunton, va

excellent hotel in downtown Portland

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Cozy, friendly, convenient.
Cons: I'd like reservation staff to be more polished and flexible with requests.
The Heathman is an old favorite of mine, with a distinctive feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location-central to shopping and theatre

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great room and restaurant
Location: Shopping, theatre, museums, restaurants
Very comfortable accommodations and excellent restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

well appointed hotel located downtown

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Outstanding service, well appointed hotel, easy access to transit
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Downtown, close to MAX line, shopping, the waterfront and many of the food carts.
Lovely hotel and close to the MAX line. Rooms were well appointed and the service is outstanding, and the free wine tastings and library are a bonus. Minor complaint my room faced the main street so it was noisy at times with the sounds of traffic so ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Overall, an excellent hotel and I will return again.