Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rickfrom Ithaca, Ny

Charming Village Inn

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice Inn with a superb restaurant. The room was charming and not a chain-type fell. They gave us a choice of rooms. The inn allowed us to bring outer Lab Retreiver as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa On

Room was so small thought I was back in Europe..

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Nice looking from outside.
Cons: nothing for my taste. Guess I should have realized what " Inn " meant. Never again. Word INN no scares me
Location: Nothing
Small rooms, no elevator or staff to carry bags. Never same staff member on desk. Zero knowledge of area
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin Buchmanfrom Atlanta, Ga.

Next to noisy construction site

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This property is in serious need of a major overhaul. The bathroom was small and uncomfortable, small sink with no counter space not even a shelf. Toiletries had to go on the floor. The mirror was slanted so guests would have to bend down to look into it. The room was uninviting although the bed was comfortable. Steps were steep making it difficult to get luggage upstairs. No help offered by the one staff member. Coffee was not offered till 7:30. Overall, I would not recommend this property to anyone. I can't rate service because there was none.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An pleasant inn run by "foodies"

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The Kennebunk Inn offers pleasant, but unsophisticated lodging, with a very nice restaurant in a quiet small town setting. It served the needs of my wife and me well as we traveled overnight to pick up our daughter who spent the summer as a camp counselor in Maine. The owners are a husband and wife team who met as students at the Culinary Institute of America. As might be expected the dining room is more impressive than the guest rooms. Our room was adequate but sparse with nowhere to sit other than the bed and not so much as a shelf to rest a toilet bag on in the bathroom. I ended up putting mine on the floor as I shaved and brushed my teeth. The Kennebunk is recommended for those who rather endure a few minor quirks than spend another night in a generic chain hotel room.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich, VT

Old and Dirty

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I frequently like older hotels with charm, this had none. The town location is great. Be aware that if you are on the third floor you may be lugging suitcases up several flights of stairs. Porch was still littered with bar classes at 9 AM the next morning left from the night before,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brooksfrom New Jersey

Just Okay

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Came with very young kids - not the best inn for this situation. Though our room/suite was perfect for our group, we were on the third floor and since kids will be kids, you really can't stop them from crying, screaming and stomping after sleeping or being stuck in a car ride to come to Maine. Not even the best parents or babysitters can stop this. So aside from being sorry for the other guests, it was not restful at all. Maybe the idea of staying here would have been better for just a couple or a group of adult friends or families with older children. Other then that, the place was okay. I just do not understand why the front desk wasn't staffed and we were on our own from the time we arrived before 9PM and when we checked out at 7AM.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Beware: Inn that needs updating

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The view from the outside, the porch.
Cons: Room size and odor, very noisy air conditioners, cleanliness of floor. They should tell you that there is construction presently, right outside.
Location: Kennebunk is a small town that closes up at about 6. There is a terrific restaurant across the street called 50 Local, which prepares farm fresh food.
The Kennebunk Inn looks very attractive and cozy in the pictures. However, in reality, the rooms are very small, hardly enough room to get around the bed. There was a very musty odor in the room, and the window air conditioner was so noisy it had to be turned off in order to sleep. The smell dissipated somewhat when the window was opened. The bathroom was extremely small and there was no hot water the first night we stayed there. Just on the side of the hotel, there is construction of a town hall, where the builders started work about 6:30 every morning. When we tried to get a refund for our last night of 3, we were told that Expedia would not give a refund, on the Expedia website it says the hotel will not give a refund. We left anyways, feeling that we could not stay another night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kelly McCarthyfrom Florida resident...frequent traveler

Nice & Well Priced

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a nice hotel/inn . Rooms are a little dated but quaint and charming. Our room was #5 on the first floor at the back of the building. It is a nice room that accommodated us and our two kids with its 2nd room daybed. Very nice. However, the room as window ac units and everyone smokes behind the building and our window units seem to be sucking that air into the room. So our room smelled like smoke. It wasn't unbearable but if you don't like smoke this is not the room for you. Bring some bottled water as there is none in the room. Staff was wonderful and bed comfortable. Bathroom had all the amenities you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and cozy stay!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The quaintness and quietness of the place. And the staff was most charming and helpful!!
Cons: The lock on the door are extremely loud so when you close the door it echoes down the hall.
Location: Downtown Kennebunk with walking to shops ver convenient.
The staff was absolutely charming! Even though this Inn was built in 1799, it had all the updated amenities and I can't say enough about our wonderful and relaxing stay! We just loved it and will definitely be back again.