Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich, VT

Old and Dirty

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I frequently like older hotels with charm, this had none. The town location is great. Be aware that if you are on the third floor you may be lugging suitcases up several flights of stairs. Porch was still littered with bar classes at 9 AM the next morning left from the night before,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Beware: Inn that needs updating

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The view from the outside, the porch.
Cons: Room size and odor, very noisy air conditioners, cleanliness of floor. They should tell you that there is construction presently, right outside.
Location: Kennebunk is a small town that closes up at about 6. There is a terrific restaurant across the street called 50 Local, which prepares farm fresh food.
The Kennebunk Inn looks very attractive and cozy in the pictures. However, in reality, the rooms are very small, hardly enough room to get around the bed. There was a very musty odor in the room, and the window air conditioner was so noisy it had to be turned off in order to sleep. The smell dissipated somewhat when the window was opened. The bathroom was extremely small and there was no hot water the first night we stayed there. Just on the side of the hotel, there is construction of a town hall, where the builders started work about 6:30 every morning. When we tried to get a refund for our last night of 3, we were told that Expedia would not give a refund, on the Expedia website it says the hotel will not give a refund. We left anyways, feeling that we could not stay another night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and cozy stay!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The quaintness and quietness of the place. And the staff was most charming and helpful!!
Cons: The lock on the door are extremely loud so when you close the door it echoes down the hall.
Location: Downtown Kennebunk with walking to shops ver convenient.
The staff was absolutely charming! Even though this Inn was built in 1799, it had all the updated amenities and I can't say enough about our wonderful and relaxing stay! We just loved it and will definitely be back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

Not a good room.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Nice area.
The "family suite" had two bedrooms connected together with no door and no common area. You had to walk through someone else's bedroom to get to the bathroom. Bad shower, old tub with a shower head that could not be adjusted down, would spray directly at your face with water jetting out over the shower curtain onto the floor. It was a quaint Inn in a very nice town with old shops along the street, but the rooms need to be worked on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carney from Pearce

Do not miss the restaurant !

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel personnel were very welcoming , friendly. Hotel itself is a bit run down , rooms limited, and area low key.. . A first rate restaurant in the Inn was the absolute highlight of our stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumberland Foreside, Maine

No Stars Needed

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: they could update the rooms, or expedia could give them a much lower rating
Location: This is the summertime in Maine. I am a Mainer, I know we have better quality than this
we booked this room through expedia, who rated the hotel 3.5. This room was dirty, thread bare sheets, wallpaper peeling off the wall, moldy air conditioning. It was not 3.5 quality. I would not recommend this Inn. The manager called me back a week later and said they had better rooms and it was my fault for not asking for one. What was not to understand, we told them we were not happy with the quality of the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Barbara from Connecticut

Newport

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service. Morning breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sergey Worttman from Boston

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location! Very nice Restorante Academic !! We absolutely coming back!& lovely place and time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Diane Mancino from NJ

Very Quaint Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was delightful. Great location! The staff was very friendly right from check in to the restaurant/bar. only negative was the small bathroom as other reviews mentioned as well as the street side gets a little noisy. But overall it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Welcoming staff. Clean environment. Older facility.