Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JB from New York

A disappointment

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We pictured a historic old inn, a warm welcome, and cozy romantic room,. but were disappointed. It is a big old place, with much potential from the outside, but the rooms looked liked the place had been hastily furnished on a shoestring budget without an eye to aesthetics or color. We arrived in the evening, the inn was empty and we were 1 of 2 cars in the lot all night. By the time found our way to the front desk (the front door was locked), there was a young woman who give us papers, but was not particularly welcoming or helpful. There was an assortment of very mundane yard sale-type furniture in the numerous open rooms we saw upstairs. Overall, our room d├ęcor left much to be desired and I was surprised that I did not notice fireplaces in any of the many rooms I saw. Only 2 rooms offered a king sized bed and both were disappointing. The wall to wall carpet in our room was dated, worn and looked like it needed a shampoo. The room was clean but the carpet had an old dusty smell, but none of the charm and character you'd expect. The furnishings were a mishmash of random pieces - certainly no antiques or reproductions, nor chosen with any thought to a color scheme or the 1800's time period of the building. The headboard was broken. We were 1 of 2 guests in that huge place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeanne from Kennebunk Inn

nice area

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was very simple but comfortable. It is located in a great area. We spent very little time in the room since the purpose of our visit was to attend a birthday party for a family member who resides close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jean from Woodland Hills CA

Lovely Hotel - Great Gourmet Restaurant

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a 1799 hotel so expect creaks in the floors. The unexpected surprise was the lovely gourmet restaurant run by the owners. Lovely food and not too pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rugger from Denver

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice older hotel with great restaraunt. Provided a bucket of ice that was a real bucket. Got a kick out of that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jande

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dave from Texas

Kennebunk inn

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a really nice old hotel for a weekend getaway. Staff is fantastic. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. Restaurant is one of the best I have been too. Very reasonable wine prices. Good selection. Don't miss the Lobster Pot Pie!! Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathy from orange county, California

Expecting hilton, this is not for you

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Location: Site seeing the country. Star level and price based lodging.
After reading the reviews and already having booked this place I was very nervous... What I care about is cleanliness and I saw no reviews that even mentioned anything negative about that. The negative reviews were about people's expectations of a high end hotel. This is an inn from the 1799 that was refurbished for hotel use. Floors creak, yes, small rooms, yes. Very clean and well kept, quaint. Either you love it or you hate it. We personally enjoyed it. From the reviews we learned to leave our luggage in the car and just brought in our amenities for a one night stay. There was no room for 2 bags of luggage, and yes the bathroom small, but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CheshireCat from Ottawa

Quiet location with excellent food

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a two night stay in during the Harvest Fest at Kennebunk,the location was excellent,bustling during the feat and quiet at other times. Food was excellent, and service was good. This is an old building and it does come across as a little under the weather but all considered it's still quite a good place to stay.