Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa On

Room was so small thought I was back in Europe..

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Nice looking from outside.
Cons: nothing for my taste. Guess I should have realized what " Inn " meant. Never again. Word INN no scares me
Location: Nothing
Small rooms, no elevator or staff to carry bags. Never same staff member on desk. Zero knowledge of area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An pleasant inn run by "foodies"

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The Kennebunk Inn offers pleasant, but unsophisticated lodging, with a very nice restaurant in a quiet small town setting. It served the needs of my wife and me well as we traveled overnight to pick up our daughter who spent the summer as a camp counselor in Maine. The owners are a husband and wife team who met as students at the Culinary Institute of America. As might be expected the dining room is more impressive than the guest rooms. Our room was adequate but sparse with nowhere to sit other than the bed and not so much as a shelf to rest a toilet bag on in the bathroom. I ended up putting mine on the floor as I shaved and brushed my teeth. The Kennebunk is recommended for those who rather endure a few minor quirks than spend another night in a generic chain hotel room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich, VT

Old and Dirty

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I frequently like older hotels with charm, this had none. The town location is great. Be aware that if you are on the third floor you may be lugging suitcases up several flights of stairs. Porch was still littered with bar classes at 9 AM the next morning left from the night before,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Beware: Inn that needs updating

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The view from the outside, the porch.
Cons: Room size and odor, very noisy air conditioners, cleanliness of floor. They should tell you that there is construction presently, right outside.
Location: Kennebunk is a small town that closes up at about 6. There is a terrific restaurant across the street called 50 Local, which prepares farm fresh food.
The Kennebunk Inn looks very attractive and cozy in the pictures. However, in reality, the rooms are very small, hardly enough room to get around the bed. There was a very musty odor in the room, and the window air conditioner was so noisy it had to be turned off in order to sleep. The smell dissipated somewhat when the window was opened. The bathroom was extremely small and there was no hot water the first night we stayed there. Just on the side of the hotel, there is construction of a town hall, where the builders started work about 6:30 every morning. When we tried to get a refund for our last night of 3, we were told that Expedia would not give a refund, on the Expedia website it says the hotel will not give a refund. We left anyways, feeling that we could not stay another night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and cozy stay!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The quaintness and quietness of the place. And the staff was most charming and helpful!!
Cons: The lock on the door are extremely loud so when you close the door it echoes down the hall.
Location: Downtown Kennebunk with walking to shops ver convenient.
The staff was absolutely charming! Even though this Inn was built in 1799, it had all the updated amenities and I can't say enough about our wonderful and relaxing stay! We just loved it and will definitely be back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

Not a good room.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Nice area.
The "family suite" had two bedrooms connected together with no door and no common area. You had to walk through someone else's bedroom to get to the bathroom. Bad shower, old tub with a shower head that could not be adjusted down, would spray directly at your face with water jetting out over the shower curtain onto the floor. It was a quaint Inn in a very nice town with old shops along the street, but the rooms need to be worked on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumberland Foreside, Maine

No Stars Needed

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: they could update the rooms, or expedia could give them a much lower rating
Location: This is the summertime in Maine. I am a Mainer, I know we have better quality than this
we booked this room through expedia, who rated the hotel 3.5. This room was dirty, thread bare sheets, wallpaper peeling off the wall, moldy air conditioning. It was not 3.5 quality. I would not recommend this Inn. The manager called me back a week later and said they had better rooms and it was my fault for not asking for one. What was not to understand, we told them we were not happy with the quality of the Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Welcoming staff. Clean environment. Older facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Wait until construction is finished next door!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Liked the food, and house staff was as helpful as they could be.
The Kennebunk Inn has a certain charm, but is a little run-down in places, too. However, as of late June 2014 there is major construction of a new Town Pavilion going on RIGHT NEXT DOOR. They start at 7 AM with earth movers, crane work, etc. There were literally men bolting girders with a plain view into our 3rd story windows. The Inn did not warn us that this would be happening when we made our reservation. You don't really want to stay here until the construction is finished ... perhaps by end of July, 2014? Check with hotel staff. Food in the Academe restaurant is very good (but note they are closed Mondays). Hotel was retrofitted with sprinkler pipes that run in and out of rooms just above head height. I couldn't raise my arms in the shower to rinse without hitting a pipe. Madison family suites are roomy, and have a full kitchen (not just a kitchenette), but no pots, pans, or staples ... so you'll be shopping.
3 out of 5
by Skyler from New Hampshire

Our weekend away

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The hotel was lovely and charming. Our room was under another filled with loud children-jumping on the beds and running all day :-(
Cons: Upgrade the lobster pie recipe.
Location: It was in the center of the busy downtown.
We had dinner in the inn on a Saturday evening. We were very disappointed with the meal. I had the lobster pie which is supposed to be their signature dish. It consisted of a small shallow dish with exactly 1 small lobster claw in it and a few tiny pieces of knuckle meat from that one claw in a chowder base. It came with a giant piece of puff pastry on top of it and nothing else. I was still starving after eating it. My dinner companion had fish and chips which looked a lot more filling for less money.