Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Central New York

We loved the setting, and close to downtown

Posted Aug 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel was perfect; within a short walk to everything you want to do downtown. The layout of the hotel was great - tucked away, quiet, tranquil setting. The hotel's restaurant and bar were closed, which was not made clear to us before we reserved, but they did serve a nice breakfast which was included with our stay. The heated outdoor pool was not heated! But it was refreshing during out stay when it was 85 degrees. We liked our stay a lot, and are considering returning. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others; it was very affordable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Not Impressed

Posted Aug 23, 2011
Even with Expedia's discount, this Inn was expensive. It was old and not kept up very well. the desk clerk was cordial, as was the maid, that we met. Inns and B&B's at the high season in Kennebunkport, are expensive, but this place was way overpriced for the condition that we found it in. If there had been any other rooms available, I would have gladly paid a bit more for something nicer. Needs updating, painting, musty smell removing! We went out and bought a candle to keep burning while we were there, just to be able to stand it. The sheets were clean and the continental breakfast was good. The in room a/c worked well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in Kennebunkport

Posted Aug 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
We had read in the reviews that the another couple were disappointed that the restaurant was not open during the off season but it is no longer opened at all. The hotel needs a lot of repair and for the price we paid we were surprised with how musty the room was and that it needed so much work. The owner was very nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwalk, CT

What a dump.

Posted Aug 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
Customers are misled to believe they actually have a full service restaurant. They serve a low end continental breakfast. We felt ripped off. The room smelled of cheap disinfectant and is about the wierdest setup I've ever seen with no real door, but a sliding glass entry where the only amount of natural lighting available would be to have your full room on display like a fishbowl. The location was convenient, but this place should be bulldozed or at least properly advertised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Not Impressed

Posted Aug 1, 2011
Knowing that we were paying more for location than quality of accomodations, we went into this with already lowered expectations, however, this property failed to meet even that. Room was okay, except for the super slippery tub that my son fell in twice over the course of a week, the less than effective air conditioning unit, a sink stopper that didn't work and an unpleasant odor in the room that either went away over the week or we just got used to it. Continental breakfast was served in a dingy, former restaurant and was the same offering day in and day out. Outdoor pool could use some attention. Water was murky and paint was peeling from the stairs and the closest restrooms were out of service. Be forewarned - the 'beach' that this property is within walking distance of is small and rocky - not a place you'd want to spend the day at and walking distance to town is a bit of stretch. Also note that the local beaches here require the purchase of daily parking passes at the local Chamber of Commerce, not very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canyon Country, CA

Good location, but thin walls.

Posted Jul 14, 2011
POSITIVES: Walking distance to town, beautiful surroundings, large room, quaint porch, good continental breakfast, enjoyed indoor pool. Good for price. NEGATIVES: Thin walls, commercial drop ceiling. Kinda felt like a modular building. Heard more than I'd like to in the room next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Posted Jun 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
The In was very nice. The grounds were beautiful. I wish though theat the restraurant and tavern had been open. It would have been nice to go and sit on the patio in the evening and relax and get a snack. Also my air conditioner didn't work and it was quite stuffy in my room. I had reqested them to check it and I don't beleive anyone did, because it was still unplugged. Overall I enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Village Cove in Kennebunkport, ME

Posted Jun 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
A breakfast basket was delivered as soon as we opened the drape in the morning - a lovely touch. The layout of the inn plus our room and lavatory area were very nice, but we were puzzled by the condition of toilet and tub area. It needs to be redone to match the rest of the accommodations. The restaurant is not open, but they are looking for someone to run it. This was not a hardship for us since they guided us to a very good restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
I was disappointed that the hotel dining room was not yet open for the season. I would have liked to know this before booking. The toilet in our room rocked every time we sat on it. Other than that the location was nice - just a short walk in to town. The continental breakfast was nice as was all of the staff.