Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Co. Down

The hotel with a great history

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly & helpful.Our room was clean & breakfast was very enjoyable .
Cons: The bar menu in Jameson Bar needs to have 2 seperate menus as opposed to an all day menu with a few 'specials' on the board!
Location: Great beach close by hotel, plenty of sightseeing opportunities , Dublin city centre very accessible with public transport.
The hotel has a great history in a great location. The adjacent beach was beautiful & the hotel golf course is a must play!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria uk

Very enjoyable stay..

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Enjoyable stay hotel staff ar excellent and so helpful breakfast was brilliant we had bar meals in the evening which were also excellent and the crack was great...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fab weekend

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely relaxing weekend...great breakfast...nice atmosphere. Free sea view upgrade which was beautiful. Only downside was noisy guests at 4am and 5am coming back to their rooms from a wedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oonaghfrom Belfast

Welcoming atmosphere

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Relaxation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, very comfortable bed.

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent two nights at this hotel, and were very pleased. Warm welcome, lovely clean room, very comfortable bed. We had breakfast and an evening meal, we were very pleased with both. Visited Howth great for fish restaurants and Malahide which has many friendly pubs. Yes we would stay at Portmarnock hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brendanfrom San Francisco

Would reccimend to anyone

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I find the four* rating to be liberaly used and often dissapointing when traveling, However in this case it is deserved, this hotel excells in all catogories
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Toby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach in an older community

Posted Nov 10, 2014
First, the hotel is about 8 miles from dublin. If thats the focus of your stay ask about the buses and get them down. A buddy and I stayed four nights in the hotel. The staff were excellent! The rooms were exceptionally clean and they were always helpful beyond expectations. The town itself is older and I'm 26, so when we first got there we got very dirty looks. Apparently a lot of crime happened with people wearing hoodies so they have a bad reputation. Of course we were wearing hoodies and didnt know this. We put on coats and all the looks stopped almost instantly. The sights were gorgeous and i loved waking up to the ocean every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kiev, ukraine

Wonderful hotel near the sea

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Good spirited ... Wonderful for be with your family, beloved one, with youself ...