Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant old world style hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Rooms facing the street need more sound proofing. Breakfast food is dull.
Location: Turn left out of the main entrance on a Saturday night and from midnight onwards, the streets nearby are the most fun.
This is a great location near the university area, which is quite lively at night. That presents the only problem. If your room faces the street and it's a Saturday night, expect people noise well into the small hours. The hotel is in an old art nouveau style building with plenty of charm. Rooms are comfortable, not luxurious. The bathrooms are basic. Breakfast always gets a good write up as the dining room is charming with its lovely garden. But the food could do with a little oomph - pretty boring. Table service is non-existent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy customers

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: As said.
Cons: Definitely provide high speed internet as people need nowadays.
Location: It's located near city centre, just walk around with plenty to see.
I now realised this hotel is a 2 stars hotel. I thought it was 4 stars when I booked. However, 2 stars hotel is very old wood building but very clean, chambermaid deserved tips. In the room is very comfortable if you only expect functional, good clean bed, comfortable. The over all is very great value for money. It has plenty space, staff are helpful. We are very happy with the service if you are looking for clean place and near city centre. Taxi about £6 to the hotel takes about 10 mins. Another plus within this hotel is it has warm radiator to dry/fresh the clothes especially I am a light traveler I need to wash some clothes, fridge is inside the bedroom, better breakfast heaps of choice, but great value for price which I don't expect. This hotel provides their service far better than 3 stars hotel in Lisbon. However, this hotel could be improved in internet system. Not just this hotel, most hotels' problems with poor signal internet. They should provide high speed internet as value added into the business. I am still running the business while travelling with in Portugal. I decided to buy a dongle and top up to use. It's better works better. even better if you go to reception ground floor, hotel's internet does not work. If you are in serious business and need high speed internet, this hotel is not suitable, 3 star hotels are not suitable. I would recommend 4 stars might be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Margaret from Bungendore

Brilliant value for money in a great location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel in beautiful Porto - it was only a few hundred metres from the Aliados Square, close to restaurants and metro stops, and a short downhill walk to the Ribeira. The hotel was really clean and comfortable with a grand ballroom breakfast befitting a five star establishment. WifFi worked well although we did have to enter the logon code regularly. We could not fault any aspect of our stay. Highly recommended to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central to porto

Posted Nov 13, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Berkley from Fresno Ca USA

Elegance from a bygone era

Posted Nov 8, 2013
This hotel was truly a gem. The decor was reminiscnt of the eraly 20th century. The rooms had high ceilings and were comfotable. The bathroom was modern. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we have had in all of Europe. The staff was helpful but not intrusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: The location, the staff, the breakfast, the garden.
Cons: Beds are a bit hard.
Location: The location is central, close to shopping and the river.
We love the Old World charm of the hotel. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is wonderful in a beautiful setting. The garden is a lovely oasis in the heart of the city.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr. M from USA

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very noisy with thin walls between rooms. Day staff not friendly night staff better. On a noisy side street with loud drunken young people strolling all night. Would not return and wouldn't recommend it for a family. More like a youth hostel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from New Jersey

Never Again

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel & room were clean & well maintained. The room contained the basics...two single beds, a clothes closet, a desk & chair. The staff was not friendly at all. The hotel was located on a narrow side avenue that served as a thoroughfare to the main city square. Every night the locals partied in the street, singing and drinking until 5 am. The hotel management was reluctant to make any complaints to the police authorities. Sleep was impossible...never again...avoid this hotel and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Di from London, UK

Charm in the centre of Oporto

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: The furnishings and the staff.
Location: Very central ... a little difficult for car parking but next time we won't hire a car!
Right in heart of old centre. Beautiful small hotel with very helpful and courteous staff. I had made a mistake with the booking and they sorted it out for us very quickly. Had booked just for the Friday night and somewhere else for Sat/Sun. Would definitely go there again for the whole weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2013 on Hotels.com