Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2014
The staff was friendly and willing to help, particularly offering assistance and opinion on visiting the Douro Valley, recommended good restaurants, and made us aware how much to expect to pay for taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel in Riberia

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel restaurant round the corner had excellent live music on the Friday night. Breakfast was very good - choice of continental or cooked.
Cons: The shower pressure in our room wasn't the best. If you're looking for a very peaceful night, request a room away from the main road.
Very pleasant hotel close to the various sights and amenities in the Ribeira district. Really interesting architecture, friendly and helpful staff, well stocked bar.. Superb location, a minute walk to the waterfront and the numerous bars, restaurants, river boatr trips etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide South Australia

Excellent on all counts, central, quiet, modern,

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: There was nothing to dislike, it is an interesting, delightful hotel, different and engagingg
Cons: There is nothing that I would suggest our needs were always adequately met
Location: There are activities to satisfy anybody interested in history, architecture, rivers, wine and the production of wine, shopping, timber boats,
This hotel has architecturally combined modern with historic, it is centrally located within walking distance to the river, the beautiful bridge, historic and cultural venues, brilliant dining, all within easy distance if one doesn't mind some hills. The hotel is comfortable, the staff always courteous and helpful (English is understood) The town is a romantic, photogenic, and interesting place to visit with many historic venues, wonderful artefacts to look at, and always an abundance of atmosphere and activity. Tourists can be seen reading maps on every corner. We will never forget our experience of Porto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester, England

Good clean hotel. Bit far from town

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Good rooms. Staff OK and good selection at breakfast.
Although a fair walk from town the Metro station is reasonably close. Staff could do more to be friendly. In particular the breakfast staff who seemed unfazed by some food running out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto On

Nice hotel closed to the river.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Services
The staff are not helpfull and are room was not what we booked. The manager said the mistake was that we booked on the Internet not with the Hotel and they will not look at your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Great location!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Great location, comfortable and clean rooms. Wifi worked very well.
Cons: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the front desk staff were not so friendly when we checked in.
Location: Excellent location, easy walk to the riverfront and to the funicular.
We found this hotel to be very comfortable and in a great location for exploring Porto! Most of the staff were helpful with suggestions for local tours etc. would definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill

Porto with a River View

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We were overall pleased with the hotel. Quibbles: small room with little space for suitcases, poor WiFi reception (had to go in hall), slippery shower without handles. View was fabulous, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

A Chic Hotel in the heart of Porto

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The location, cleanliness and chilled out atmosphere
Cons: Tea and Coffee in the room
Location: Close to the old port and near to the Iron Bridge over the Doura River to the Port Wine Cellars.
We were greeted by friendly reception staff who were keen to advise on the City of Porto and provided guidance on good places to eat and drink when asked. The hotel is well situated in the heart of the old quarter and just a few minutes stroll down old cobbled streets to the beautiful old port area of Ribeira do Porto which is a UNISCO heritage site. The hotel has a chic boutique feel inside and a charming traditional exterior. Our room had a street view with French windows and a little iron balcony. You can open the windows for the night air or you can close them up and cover with a double glazed unit to provide peace and quite from the busy street below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frank from miami, fl

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Close to the river, very clean and near to main attractions
3 out of 5
Recommended
by rene from uk

central location, new and trendy.

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was easy to find using the train from the airport and then a short walk downhill towards the river. The hotel is in a group of old refurbished buildings which are quirky and modern whilst keeping elements from the past. The hotel abound a pedestrians side street which is steps from the river bank. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the area and the bridge across to the port cellars is just a stroll away.The rooms are small and modern with good showers and quality furnishings. The ones on the main street are noisy at night. We asked to move to a quieter room and the staff were helpful and found us a room in an annex which overlooked an alleyway _dark but at least we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was small but tasty. I would return to and recommend this hotel if I was on a short break to Porto in the future.