Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ignore the Facade - Great Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff, great breakfast, great location. The theme & bonkers curtained corridors (semi dark) made us giggle quite a bit!
Cons: Better wifi (it's rubbish - sorry Hotel Teatro, but it is! Stand in reception if you want proper signal!). A door on the bathroom.
Location: Very close: Sao Bento train station with fab tiled murals; close to Rua des Flores (takes you almost down to the river); Lots of restaurants & shops
I would thoroughly recommend the Hotel Teatro in Porto. Despite its off-putting exterior, the hotel is lovely. Themed throughout around the theatre, there are costumes downstairs & curtains EVERYWHERE! The corridors & inside is crazily dark & the corridors seem like something out of The Shining (bizarre carpet & curtains on the wall - all in the semi-gloom!). Despite this, the room was good (watch out for your stuff disappearing - it's probably in the hidden drawer under the copper bowl sink!). Room was comfy, beds nice. Only downside - you need to know the person you share with quite well as there's only a curtain separating the bathroom from the rest of the room - no door. Room had plenty of space, a TV, fridge, safe, hairdryer & a GOOD shower (the head is enormous!). The staff were amazing - helpful, polite, impressive language skills (I heard one of them speak Portuguese [obviously!], flick to English for us, then French, then German) & friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel other than the breakfast that was provided with our stay & that was great. Plentiful, everything from fruit & cereal, to cheese & ham, bacon & scrambled eggs, to pastel de natas, chorizo & fizzy wine! On several mornings we started the day with a Bucks Fizz! The 70s lizard lounge bar (that's how it looked to us - in reality it's theatre themed like the rest of the hotel) was friendly & we had a lovely free drink of Dow's Ruby Port. Thank you Hotel Teatro. I'd stay again. Great location too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: Maybe the lighting.
The hotel is located about 1 1/2 blocks from Praca Liberdade which made it very convenient for tour meet ups, restaurants and bars/clubs. The hotel is very stylish and the staff was wonderful, from reception, to concierge to wait staff. The breakfast buffet was incredible and their dinner menu was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return any time we are in Porto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suffolk uk

This hotel made our holiday

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Everything, it would be very difficult to make our stay better than it already was.
Cons: Absolutely nothing could improve this hotel, it was incredible.
Location: The hotel was in an amazing location and close to all amenities, railway station, metro, river front and yet far enough to be quiet and calm.
We have never been to Portugal and decided for our 25th anniversary to go to Porto and spend 2weeks at the hotel Teatro! Best decision ever made! The staff were helpful, alert to any needs and yet so subtle! The suite was awesome, cleaned daily and always appeared like we had just booked in, yes that spotless! The breakfast well what can I say champagne in silver ice buckets, with flutes then choice of hot, cold, savoury and sweet, juices, coffee, chocolate or if it's not available just ask! We will definitely stay again and would recommend to everyone to experience this amazing hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent.uk

Good central locAtion

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Helpful friendly staff and comfortable good sized rooms with ample space for clothes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel with very friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2014
A friend and I recently spent 4 nights in this hotel whilst visiting my daughter who is working in Porto this summer. The staff were brilliant. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good with a great choice. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Contemporary and characterful hotel near centre.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Lovely continental breakfast including champagne, fresh fruit, coffee and cakes daily. Unusual decor, unique and quirky, but also very clean and comfy
Cons: The Hotel is very theatrical, however because of this it's quite dark everywhere, maybe it could be a bit lighter?! However we soon got used to it:)!
Location: The location of the hotel is great, easy walking distance to the station (very close), the Cathedral, the Bridge and River Douro and restaurants.
We had a fabulous stay at this lovely, contemporary hotel, which is close to the cathedral and train station and within easy walking distance of the Bridge and River Douro, as well as lots of caf├ęs and restaurants. We spent a week in the hotel, which has consistently high standards. The rooms and hotel in general are lovely and clean and comfortable, with a comfortable sitting area and courtyard, where we had our breakfast some mornings. The hotel gave us a voucher each for a port at the bar, which was delicious. Also, one night on returning from a day out, we found a thank you card from the hotel, for staying with them and a bottle of wine and some cheese, a lovely touch. As well as exploring Porto, which is truly beautiful, we went to Braga and Amarante, both of which are well worth a visit. We also went on a trip to Santiago de Compostela in Spain, which was absolutely unforgettable! The hotel is generally a fantastic base for exploring the area and travelling to different places is easy on the train, metro or local bus. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and courteous and the hotel is very well run. Breakfast is very organised and there was always a clean table ready, whatever time you had breakfast. Food and drinks were plentiful and constantly replenished, even close to the end of breakfast. Our room was immaculate and had a superb, powerful, walk in shower. All in all, we had a superb holiday and enjoyed the uniqueness and quirkiness of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loughton

Absolutely marvellous location.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast, great staff and perfect location.
Cons: A clear glass door for the bathroom/toilet could leave people in embarrassing situations, so perhaps some obscure glass would be better.
Location: Superb location, central to the transport hubs and main sites.
A wonderful, centrally located hotel. The staff were very helpful and couldn't offer anything more. Modelled on a theatre, some parts of the hotel are quite dark, but this adds atmosphere as much as anything else. The hotel is close to the main bus and metro stops, so one can get around Porto very easily. The rooms are adequately sized, although the bathroom and toilet having a glass door, does make for some interesting house rules. Breakfast is ample, regularly replenished and with plenty of variety. Overall a very good, keenly priced hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Our room was quiet and extremely comfortable - the best nights sleep had in a long time. The hotel decor is interesting and unique. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. It was an absolute pleasure to be able to stay there. It is highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Funky hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Comfortable stay in a good location. Be warned the hotel is very dark as the place is decorated like a theatre with a lot of mood lighting. Good continental breakfast with chilled champagne at the buffet table. The staff are friendly and speak good english.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY tri-state area

Nice hotel in the great location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: New and modern, good location, great food, friendly staff
Cons: Place full size mirror inside of the room, add clothes iron in the room, add a more light
Location: close to tourist area
Hotel design is modern, has great location, has great food and friendly staff. Room was quiet. This hotel has dark interior and limited view of mirrors, so you always will look good inside :)